Nana Bessie's Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The cakes came out great, but no one really liked the filling. The texture was perfect, but it was missing flavor. Followed recipe exactly. Might try this, but with different filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I had a similar recipe years ago that i got from an old Pennsylvania Dutch cookbook but had lost it, much to my disappointment. I never liked the whoopie pies with the marshmallow cream filling because it was always way too sweet, so i'm really happy to find this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Cakes were great!! Didn't care for the filling much. If you do decide to make this filling, I would suggest dividing it in half. Makes way too much, even with being generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These are delicious, the only drawback for me was the richness of the filling. I really piled it on the cakes, and it was just too much. I will definately put less filling next time. I also used a tip from another whoopie recipe and wrapped each one in plastic wrap, then refrigerated them. They are good straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I'd add some marshmallow fluff to the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
They were pretty good different from what I had expected but good though in a different way! Very chocolately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Filling was a total flop, but the cakes were really good. The filling was one of the most disappointing (and time consuming) of my baking endeavors. Will use my grandmothers recipe next time for the filling, but might stick with this recipe for the cakes. I definitely learned from this recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcoombs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were good! The cakes were kind of dry, but I suspsect that was because I replaced half the shortening with butter. Will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Cakes were ok but flavor was a little lacking. After reading reviews I just used canned frosting which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitperszyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The cakes were good, but the icing recipe was off. I agree with other reviewers that there was an excess of bland flavored icing. I tweaked it and the result was delicious...essentially I would follow the recipe but change the icing proportions as follows: 1 cup milk 3 tablespoons of all-purpose flour 3/4 cups vegetable shortening 3/4 cups butter 2 cups white sugar 1 Tablespoon of vanilla (or almond) extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States