Nairobi Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
DELISH! Made this today just as written. I used my homemade chocolate buttercream icing to go with it. My husband wants this cake for his birthday & any other time I'm looking to bake something. "efzed", do you have any other treats that we might find scrumptious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romyko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very moist and chocolatey! This is the best non-mix cake I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elcho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Perfect Chocolate Cake for any occasion. I made 12 cupcakes and 1 9in single pan cake. .Will make again....and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
A nice chocolate cake recipe with good chocolate flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
It looks delicious i am from Nairobi i will be trying it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
so nice to see a cake recipe from Nairobi, I am from Nairobi, cannot wait to try this!! yaay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
good, simple chocolate cake; easy, ingredients you must perforce have in your pantry, and you can't go wrong. It crecked a bit, so I got it out of the oven early and the centre was nicely fudgy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is an acceptable cake, but not one I’ll make again given the other, extraordinary chocolate cake recipes on this site. In addition to not being as dark chocolate as I assumed it would be, it wasn’t as moist or sweet as I would have liked either. It cries out, then, for a sweet buttercream frosting. I made this as cupcakes; a half recipe gave me 12 perfectly shaped and nicely rounded cupcakes. I frosted them with “Mint Buttercream Frosting with Dark Chocolate Glaze,” recipe also from this site. Edit 11-10-12: This was much improved simply by adding 1/4 c. more sugar and using strong, brewed coffee in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Easy and Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Awesome! Delicious and the perfect amount of sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States