Nacho Chip Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
It is fast to make, my family loved it, instead of using store bought salsa, I made my own. I plan on making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is ok. The meat needs taco seasoning to add some flavor. Also, I add a can of enchilada sauce to the soup mixture to try to add flavor. It's ok for a quick meal, and is actually Weight Watchers friendly when using appropriate ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this using the suggestion of adding taco seasoning to the meat while cooking (1/2 packet), and equal parts of shredded cheddar and mozzarella (needed to get rid of the mozzarella because it was getting old) and I thought it was really good and quick. I also added a little chile powder (about 1/2 tsp), medium hot (Chimasa Brand, pure new mexico chile powder). I think that made it a little spicy, but added a lot of flavor. My youngest son, who is the least picky, liked it, but my middle son who is extremely picky asked for something else. If it was just for me, I'd make this recipe regularly because it was simple, delicious, and quick, but since we don't all agree on it (which is very common, unfortunately :( I will probably only make when my youngest son and I are the only ones eating. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
After reading some reviews, I too, decided to make this, but with some alterations. I added chili powder, garlic salt, cilantro, green onions, can of cream of mushroom soup, about 10oz of salsa and some enchilada sauce mix to the ground beef as it cooked. Then I layered crushed chips, the meat mixture, one can of drained black beans, shredded Mexican blend cheese, chips, meat mixture with can of refried black beans mixed in, and topped with more cheese. I served it with optional sour cream, hot sauce, and chopped fresh tomatoes as toppings. Everyone loved it. Will surely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was just okay. I don't think the cream of mushroom soup really 'fit' with the other ingredients, maybe condensed nacho cheese soup would be better? I added taco seasoning to the meat and used shredded cheese instead. Mine was kinda runny, probably should have drained the tomatoes for a while before adding them in. Not bad at all, but probably won't make again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Thanks for the recipe, Kathy. My boyfriend and I both thought it was good. I always go through the reviews before I make a dish-which is what I love about this site. Just did a couple of changes. After browning the meat, I added mild taco seasoning to it. I used almost a whole jar of salsa in place of the tomates and green chilies. I also used 4 cheese mexican, shredded. Crumbled the chips and layered. To me it tasted more like frito pie. Very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
FOUR STARS with slight modifications! I added taco seasoning to the beef before miking with soup and tomatoes. I then layered the crushed chips, 1/2 of beef mixture, black beans, 1/2 shredded cheese, beef mixture, crushed chips and remainder of cheese. Sort of like a nacho lasagna. After baking, I topped with shredded lettuce and sliced olives. It was a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Not bad, but not great. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Great recipe . . . I use more doritoes, add taco seasoning, onion, and top with shredded lettuce and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
this is great! i added a can of ranch style beans, layered crushed chips/cheese on the bottom/ meat mix/ more chips/cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States