Nacho Chip Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I have been cooking this recipe for the past 7 years, instead of using diced tomatoes my family adds 1/2 to 1 jar of salsa and also 1 can of ranch style beans undrained, its is soooo good. We like to use Doritos just the regular bag, and we layer them at the bottom, I dont put too many because they tend to get soft, and I like them crunchy. Sometimes instead of using a fork we use the doritos and eat it like its a dip. So its a great meal or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
FOUR STARS with slight modifications! I added taco seasoning to the beef before miking with soup and tomatoes. I then layered the crushed chips, 1/2 of beef mixture, black beans, 1/2 shredded cheese, beef mixture, crushed chips and remainder of cheese. Sort of like a nacho lasagna. After baking, I topped with shredded lettuce and sliced olives. It was a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
As I was making this again tonight I realized that I failed to mention in the review I left a few days ago that I also added chopped yellow onion, onion powder and garlic powder to the ground beef as it was browning. Not sure if this made a difference but it was definitely good this way! Spraying the casserole dish with cooking spray made for easy clean up, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
this is a very good recipe, but i would get rid off the processed cheese slices and put shredded mexican blend cheese, also if you don't want it very bland, add some chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I rated this 4 stars because I made some changes to make it worth 5 stars. First, I crunched the chips some b/4 putting in pan. Second, I used cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom. Third, I added approx 3/4 cup of homemade salsa (mild) to beef mixture. Fourth, I used shreaded cheddar cheese instead of cheese slices. Very good and oh so easy to prepare. My husband thought it was grand!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
With a couple of minor changes and additions, this turned out to be really great. First of all, while I was browning my ground turkey, I placed the tortilla chips in the oven to brown and crisp them up. To my meat mixture I added onion and garlic powders, chile powder and some cumin. I don't do processed anything, so I used grated Vermont Cheddar instead. It was almost like having nachos but a lot easier. We all loved this Kathy and my mexican food lovers thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
We loved this recipe. I did make a minor change by using taco seasoning in place of the diced tomatoes ~ (hubbie isn't a big fan of them). the kids gobbled this up and I was told that this was a "Keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My boyfriend and I LOVED this recipe. I also added a few changes: Instead of the diced tomatoes I used chunky salsa and instead of the processed cheese food I used Mexican blend shredded cheese. I added chili powder for a little kick as well! I also layered the pan like a lasagna: doritos-meat mix-cheese-meat mix-chips-cheese. It turned out great!! We'll definitely have this for dinner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was just okay. I don't think the cream of mushroom soup really 'fit' with the other ingredients, maybe condensed nacho cheese soup would be better? I added taco seasoning to the meat and used shredded cheese instead. Mine was kinda runny, probably should have drained the tomatoes for a while before adding them in. Not bad at all, but probably won't make again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This was decent, but not awesome. I used one can of diced tomatoes without chilis, as I was making for a toddler with a sensitive mouth. I added a little onion powder, a couple dashes of chili powder and cumin and baked the chips in the oven while I was preparing the meat. I used Velveeta cheese. Still, it was just okay, and the leftovers DID NOT reheat well. We ate it the first night and then hubby came home and said, "That really did not reheat well." I think if I am desperate to make something, I will make this again, but in a smaller pan so that there are no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States