Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is really good with the Chicken Tikka Masala recipe that is on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Like other yeast-pan made breads (crumpets) they are a bit of work. But the end result is really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My son loves flatbread warmed with Greek spices and feta cheese served warm. He was begging me to make some and I didn't have any naan from the store so I decided to try to make my own. I'm glad I did. My family loved them!!!! I proofed the yeast, cut down the amount of sugar, used sour cream (no plain yogurt at home), and made them on the baking stone in my oven. Will definitely be making these again ... Today in fact ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These are amazing - not to mention addicting! I have never made Naan before, but this is a "keeper" to quote my husband. I took the advice of others, and to bring about more bubbles, I grabbed small amounts of dough (4-5 pieces at a time) to make each golf ball sized roll. I had bubbles aplenty without the baking soda. Did I mention how easy these are? Granted, I did use my bread machine and didn't have to worry about how my yeast was going to work. Just follow the bread machine instructions for the dough setting. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I was very impressed with how yummy this recipe is & how simple it is to make! Never made any kind of bread before but this a great intro! I meant to fold in cilantro to the dough as well as garlic, but forgot so added it to the oil I was brushing on when cooking which I think added a little extra flavour zing. Definitely a great home cooked naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very yummy. I used almond milk and cooked these on a dry pan on the stove and they bubbled up great. Fantastic texture! Great for pizzas, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was my first attempt at making naan and I'm quite pleased! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and only used about 3 1/2 cups of flour. Made sure to "activate" the yeast by adding 1/2 tsp of sugar to the water and yeast mixture, which worked like a charm (I followed the yeast packet directions and only mixed the yeast with 1/4 cup water to activate, and then added the rest of the required water when mixing all the ingredients together). I think the next time I make this, I'll cut down the 1/4 cup sugar to 1 Tbsp - it just seemed far too sweet for naan. I opted not to knead the garlic into the dough, but rather put it in the butter when I melted it and brushed it on as I cooked the naan. I don't have a grill or grill pan, so used my trusty cast iron pan and it did the job! I cooked up half the batch and then had to take a break (WHO CAN NOT GIVE IN TO A BIG PILE OF NAAN STARING AT YOU?), but probably shouldn't have. I think the second half ended up being a bit more tough due to the delay in cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I am new to yeast recipes, but I made a late night trip to pick up a jar of it just so I could make this. I had some flatbread when I was deployed to Iraq, and it was so good I bought a huge stack before I left the restaurant. I made this exaclty as written but omitted the garlic, and ended up eating them right out of the pan (a cast iron grill pan on medium-low heat) and really had to force myself to stop eating more and save some for the rest of the family. I'll be making this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Heuring

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albertville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
family favorite! We make on the BGE. No changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have made this twice now and I love it. I add garlic powder to the dough in addition to the minced garlic and garlic salt to the butter (I like a lot of garlic). I grill them on a flat cast iron pan & they get all these wonderful bubbles that brown. The house smells amazing & I usually eat two or three while they are cooking (quality assurance!). I cut my dough into 16 servings, as I like my slices to be bigger. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States