Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Great! I let the yeast go for about 2-3 hours and it helped really sink in the garlic flavor. Super easy as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Excellent...with caveats. I had to make a couple of compromises that may have actually improved the overall result. Firstly, I ran out of bread flour at three cups so I had to sub a cup and a half of AP. Also my yeast was a little sluggish to start, so I added about one tbs of the sugar while blooming the yeast. I also allowed two hours for the initial rise in my microwave oven - off, of course - with a cup of boiled water beside the bowl to keep the temperature up. My resultant Naans were, in my opinion, perfect consistency. The AP probably helped them not be quite so rubbery. Still elastic, mind you, but they didn't snap back and slap you in the face! The trick to cooking them is thin, thin, thin. I started with tangerine/lime sized balls, let them swell to small orange size and rolled them out to about 10" - 11" diameter near...ish circles. I got ten out of this recipe. Slap them on a very hot grill after very lightly spraying each side. I used Parkay for a slight buttery taste. With them that thin, they'll bubble up and be done in about 60-90 seconds on each side. You want the grill marks dark brown but the bread still white. You can tell when to turn them as they'll stiffen enough to turn them with tongs. Being a limey ex-pat and my favorite all time food being English style Indian kebabs, these naans were about as close to what my memory serves. Next time, I'm going to try cooking them in my homemade Tandoor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great naan!!! I make it slightly different by not adding garlic into dough, but making a garlic butter and brushing it on right after they come off the grill and before it goes on also. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Very tasty but greasy, greasy, greasy. Next time, I'd try leaving off the butter and letting the greased pan do its magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was fabulous and incredibly easy. We don't have any Indian restaurants in my area, but when the International Festival comes, I always like to get the Naan from the vendors. This time when they came, my whole family agreed that this recipe tastes better than the one at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This turned out perfect on the grill and looked so nice but it was way too much for just two of us. I kept the remaining dough in the fridge for several days (actually, I forgot about it), covered with Seran Wrap. I then baked it as a loaf in the oven at 350. I was sorry that I didn't check the time, I'm thinking about a half hour. Just check when it sounds "hollow" when you tap on the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Made these with my husband and he enjoyed them so much, said they were so soft. I didn't use but 3.5 cups of flour though and I opted to work garlic paste into them. Used my panini grill. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Wonderful and versatile! We've eaten it plain or with hummus; we've used it as pizza crust and sandwiches! I like to add minced, fresh rosemary to the dough but you could add just about anything to amp up the flavor. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Really good, but a little lengthy to make. There were really chewy when reheated, but I kind of like a little fight from my food when I'm not eating meat! I just piled on the leftovers & that helped to soften them a bit. I'll probably experiment with keeping the raw dough in the fridge & cooking them off later in the week as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
So good and so easy to make. I didn't want to go out in the cold so I sprayed a frying pan with a little oil and cooked them on the stovetop. The flavor and texture were both restaurant quality, my daughter already asked me to make another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States