Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Great recipe... Tips: I did it severall times and had problems to create the many bubbles I saw in India... Solved by adding a 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and putting a lid on the pan... Do this and bubles will pop out everywhere and the bread will melt in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1946 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Absolutely better than the Naan served in my favorite local Indian restaurant. A couple of comments to clarify the recipe instructions, however: "Proofing" the yeast means that you must add about 1 Tblsp. of sugar to the warm water and yeast, then allow to double in volume prior to adding any further ingredients (I might not have known that had I not stumbled upon proofing instructions on the package). Also, I found that it took a considerable amount of time for this dough to rise, so keep that in mind when you are planning for this to accompany a meal. High heat was way too extreme a cooking temperature. I burned the first few and ended up keeping the heat on medium-low. This recipe had a wonderful flavor, and you could truly eat them alone with nothing more than a little butter. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I have mostly forgotten was naan tastes like, but this was relatively similar. As I live in an off-campus apartment, I didn't have access to a real grill, so I tried the following: 1. Cooking it on an open George Foreman Grill 2. Cooking it on it closed. 3. Cooking on a grill pan in the oven. 4. Grilling it in a toaster oven. The opened George Foreman was best. And another tip: Don't knead in the minced garlic. Add it to the hot melted butter and let it soak in for 10 minutes or so. Then apply the butter- it is delicious, and you don't have chunks of pungent garlic in some bits and not others. I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
962 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was fantastic ! I made it in my bread machine on dough cycle,using only 3 1/2 cups of all purpose flour as recommended by others, then removed it, made the balls and let rise about 1/2 hour. The SECRET to getting them to bubble is - when pinching the balls, pinch half in each hand, put the two halves together and then make the ball. Let rise, roll out and fry in butter. One more thing. I made these on a Monday and I had five balls left over so I put the raw dough in the fridge in a zip lock bag and four days later, just floured a board and rolled them out without even letting them come to room temoerature and they were just as good as the first time !Served them with lamb curry the first time and pea soup the second. I imagine that freezing them and letting them thaw would have the same results since there is so much frozen dough in the stores these days.Mine were perfect ! Thank you for the recipe. I have tried to make naan before with another recipe and it turned out heavy and blah. Thanks again - my husband just raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
596 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Greate Naan recipe! My mom (she's Indian) and I have tried making so many different Naan recipes, and this one turned out the best. The trick to having it bubble up and not be tough and chewy is to roll it as thin as possible. Then when cooking it on the grill only cook it until the grill marks get dark brown, do not let the whole Naan brown. Aside from the grill marks, the rest of the Naan should still be white in color. It's the closest you'll get to the Naan they serve in the Indian restaurants. Thanks so much for posting this Mic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
524 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This recipe makes a delicious fry bread. Some reviewers were disappointed in how long it took to rise. You must PROOF your yeast, by adding 1T of sugar to the yeast and warm water. Let sit for 9-12 minutes, then proceed with the remainder of the recipe. My clothes dryer happened to be going at the same time, so I just stuck my bowl on top for warmth. The dough came out absolutely fantastic. I did half the recipe as stated, and since I had small children visiting, I did half as cinnamon-sugar fry bread.Simply roll the bread in a mixture of cinnamon-sugar when its just out of the oven. The kids loved it. Medium low heat was best to avoid burn marks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Really great recipe!! I loved the taste of this bread because it's so close to what's served in some of my favorite Indian restaurants. I omitted the garlic. Instead of grilling, I cooked the naan in a large saute pan after I brushed both sides with melted butter. Make sure you don't add too much flour when you're kneading, or the dough will be stiff. Add just enough flour to have the dough just barely clean the sides of your mixing bowl. If you're having problems with the dough not rising (maybe it's not warm enough in your house), try putting it in a warm oven (200F) with the door open and covered with a damp towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DChrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Rainier, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Very good, as stated before by others this is similar in quality to good indian restaurants. I used my baking stone and set the my oven to 600 degrees rather than use the grill. The baking stone helped to give it the tandoori oven taste. The cooking time was considerably less though, taking about two minutes total, at most. I tried both regular butter and ghee (clarified butter) and found the ghee imparted more of the restaurant taste. Omitted the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My husband absolutely LOVED this Naan, he couldn't get enough!! I am Pakistani and we eat Naan quite frequently, this Naan had a very authentic taste. For the longest time I had been trying to find a good Naan recipe and Im sooo happy !! This is it!!! The Naan comes out light and fluffy and just plain wonderful. Thanks so much for the Fabulous recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This is fantastic bread -- it really is as good as I've had in most restaurants. The main course was almost forgotten, as the naan stole the show. I'll definitely be making these again -- tomorrow, in fact, due to popular demand. I made a few very slight changes to the recipe, substituting 3.5% fat yogurt for the milk and using a skillet instead of a grill. I also basted them with ghee instead of butter, and upped the garlic just a smidge, since I love it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States