Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These are amazing - not to mention addicting! I have never made Naan before, but this is a "keeper" to quote my husband. I took the advice of others, and to bring about more bubbles, I grabbed small amounts of dough (4-5 pieces at a time) to make each golf ball sized roll. I had bubbles aplenty without the baking soda. Did I mention how easy these are? Granted, I did use my bread machine and didn't have to worry about how my yeast was going to work. Just follow the bread machine instructions for the dough setting. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I was very impressed with how yummy this recipe is & how simple it is to make! Never made any kind of bread before but this a great intro! I meant to fold in cilantro to the dough as well as garlic, but forgot so added it to the oil I was brushing on when cooking which I think added a little extra flavour zing. Definitely a great home cooked naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very yummy. I used almond milk and cooked these on a dry pan on the stove and they bubbled up great. Fantastic texture! Great for pizzas, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was my first attempt at making naan and I'm quite pleased! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and only used about 3 1/2 cups of flour. Made sure to "activate" the yeast by adding 1/2 tsp of sugar to the water and yeast mixture, which worked like a charm (I followed the yeast packet directions and only mixed the yeast with 1/4 cup water to activate, and then added the rest of the required water when mixing all the ingredients together). I think the next time I make this, I'll cut down the 1/4 cup sugar to 1 Tbsp - it just seemed far too sweet for naan. I opted not to knead the garlic into the dough, but rather put it in the butter when I melted it and brushed it on as I cooked the naan. I don't have a grill or grill pan, so used my trusty cast iron pan and it did the job! I cooked up half the batch and then had to take a break (WHO CAN NOT GIVE IN TO A BIG PILE OF NAAN STARING AT YOU?), but probably shouldn't have. I think the second half ended up being a bit more tough due to the delay in cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I am new to yeast recipes, but I made a late night trip to pick up a jar of it just so I could make this. I had some flatbread when I was deployed to Iraq, and it was so good I bought a huge stack before I left the restaurant. I made this exaclty as written but omitted the garlic, and ended up eating them right out of the pan (a cast iron grill pan on medium-low heat) and really had to force myself to stop eating more and save some for the rest of the family. I'll be making this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Heuring

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albertville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
family favorite! We make on the BGE. No changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have made this twice now and I love it. I add garlic powder to the dough in addition to the minced garlic and garlic salt to the butter (I like a lot of garlic). I grill them on a flat cast iron pan & they get all these wonderful bubbles that brown. The house smells amazing & I usually eat two or three while they are cooking (quality assurance!). I cut my dough into 16 servings, as I like my slices to be bigger. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I loved the way the naan turned out! I didn't have any problem with the dough rising. I added a tablespoon of sugar to the yeast/warm water and put the dough in a warm place which probably helped. My first batch didn't turn out as well as the later ones because I didn't roll the dough thin enough. Once I adjusted that the later batches turned out great. You can cook this over the stove as well on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cbolte
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this several times. I make it and let it rise twice and use what u want and place the remainder of the dough in the refrigerator to use as I need to. this makes a great naan and is wonderful served with fresh hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Totally amazing. I made this in my bread machine on the dough cycle and waited for it to rise and punch down, then I just unplugged the machine and removed the dough ball before tearing it into the golf-ball sized pieces. Best naan I have ever had, hands down! I recommend rolling them all out before grilling, as they cook up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States