Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
We made this recipe via the grill method and served with a Cobb Salad. It was a perfect accompaniment. We didn't cook all of the dough so day 2 I tried heating the oven to 500 degrees with a pizza stone on the bottom rack for 30 mins. Cooking the dough this way developed more of a pita pocket for egg salad. Both methods were tasty. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Easy to prepare, great tasting, my whole family enjoys this naan bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Used ghee instead of regular butter and used a couple of spoonfuls of garlic paste in place of minced garlic. I fried it on the stove and it tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
These were very tasty! I did add a teaspoon of baking powder and reduced the sugar to 1 heaping tablespoon. Cooked them on a dry cast iron skillet, used only about 3 1/2 cups flour and ghee instead of melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I thought this was really good. We didn't know what bread flour was so we just did AP flour and whole wheat flour. It was fine anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Absolutely AMAZING!!! I made 20 pieces of bread and had to beg my family to leave me 2 pieces...even my 1 year old was chowing down on it! I'm making another batch today with cinnamon/sugar instead of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaHermes
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We made this and butter chicken!! It was as good as the Indian restaurant we were at the week before!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Great! I let the yeast go for about 2-3 hours and it helped really sink in the garlic flavor. Super easy as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Excellent...with caveats. I had to make a couple of compromises that may have actually improved the overall result. Firstly, I ran out of bread flour at three cups so I had to sub a cup and a half of AP. Also my yeast was a little sluggish to start, so I added about one tbs of the sugar while blooming the yeast. I also allowed two hours for the initial rise in my microwave oven - off, of course - with a cup of boiled water beside the bowl to keep the temperature up. My resultant Naans were, in my opinion, perfect consistency. The AP probably helped them not be quite so rubbery. Still elastic, mind you, but they didn't snap back and slap you in the face! The trick to cooking them is thin, thin, thin. I started with tangerine/lime sized balls, let them swell to small orange size and rolled them out to about 10" - 11" diameter near...ish circles. I got ten out of this recipe. Slap them on a very hot grill after very lightly spraying each side. I used Parkay for a slight buttery taste. With them that thin, they'll bubble up and be done in about 60-90 seconds on each side. You want the grill marks dark brown but the bread still white. You can tell when to turn them as they'll stiffen enough to turn them with tongs. Being a limey ex-pat and my favorite all time food being English style Indian kebabs, these naans were about as close to what my memory serves. Next time, I'm going to try cooking them in my homemade Tandoor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great naan!!! I make it slightly different by not adding garlic into dough, but making a garlic butter and brushing it on right after they come off the grill and before it goes on also. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States