Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by drystoneoven
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I have not tried this in a grill, but have opted to use the wood fired oven I built after heating it to 900 degrees or so. They cook pretty quickly at that temp. I even took a video of cooking two:(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfszsfQBlDE I added some finely minced onion which enhances the sweetness, and on the second try I substituted homemade kefir for the milk and water. Adding kefir (or you could do some percentage of yogurt) I think gives it a more authentic taste, which is to say, more like I've had in good Indian restaurants. Bottom line is, if you don't add some kind of tangy dairy, I think you'll get naan that is very vanilla and just plain sweet tasting. Of course, without cooking it at the proper temps, you'll have difficulty creating the chewiness and bubbling that people love about authentic naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very, very good recipe. I had to omit the egg and I used 1 tablespoon melted butter to replace it for the moisture. I didn't have bread flour so I used all-purpose flour but decreased the amount to 3 1/2 cups. I also added 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. I hand flattened the dough rather than rolling and cooked in a cast-iron skillet over medium heat. I covered the pan while they cooked for 3 minutes on the first side. I then brushed with melted butter with a dash of garlic salt added, flipped them over and then continued to cook for an additional 2 minutes. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a nice treat and other than the time involved is fairly simple. If I could I would avoid the sugar, ut it is absolutely necessary for the raising of the dough. I put 2 cups of water in a glass container into the microwave and heat it for 2 minutes. Leave the water in the oven, turn the microwave off and put the bread inside to "proof". It stays warm just long enough to do the trick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great! Its hard to mess up and well worth the wait. Keeps well in the fridge for several days. Might want to decrease the flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
So good! Make sure your grill pan is nice and hot. Also, last time I made this I ran out of steam before the second rising, so, decided to cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until the following night. I lRemoved from fridge, let it rest for 15 minutes, rolled it out, and grilled it up....just as good as grilling same day. Useful for prepping day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Wow! This is delicious. I used my bread machine on the dough setting (1.5 hrs) and used 3.5 cups of bread flour. I still proofed the yeast before putting the ingredients in the machine. This made the PERFECT dough. I grilled the flattened dough on a grill pan with olive oil and brushed each side with melted butter mixed w/garlic powder. Make sure to keep an eye on the dough when grilling -- it goes quick! Thank you so much for this recipe, it's much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Yummy! Rob loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It's tough to really get homemade Naan to taste like good restaurant quality but this has actually become our go-to PIZZA DOUGH recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
It was very good EXCEPT the barbecuing...I guess my barbecue is hotter than average because 1/3 of my breads burned or were really crusty. I did turn it down to low half way through the batch and the others turned out better, but they were still rather tough. I think I will make again and try them in the oven or on a pan stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
was delicious. I put a lot more garlic like 7 cloves. It didnt swell on mine either, probabbly going to try what another user suggests 1.2 teaspoon of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States