Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Loved it! Comes out perfect every time! I made a few variations of my own, I proofed the yeast with 2 teaspoons raw sugar just to be safe, added 3 tbsp Greek yogurt, 2 tbsp coconut milk and 2 tbsp olive oil. Swapped out 2 tbsp raw sugar and 2 tbsp dark brown sugar for the 1/4 cup white sugar and also I only start off with about 4 cups of flour and add more as I knead when neccesary, and it turns out delicious! The Greek yogurt gives it that extra "oomph" Definitely a keeper! The family requests it every time we have Indian, it goes great with chicken curry and our friends can't believe we make this at home. Delicious delicious naan bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleopatra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Not mentioning the sugar to proof the yeast WITHIN THE RECIPE ITSELF to me is a major flaw in the recipe. I wasted a package of yeast finding this out. DON'T assume your audience knows these things. A recipe should include ALL necessary information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe! Have made it several times, didn't have garlic and I left the melted butter out, after I rolled it out I grilled it on my little gas bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I read the review by DAKOTABEAR1 "This was fantastic ! I made it in my bread machine on dough cycle,using only 3 1/2 cups of all purpose flour as recommended by others..." IMPORTANT UPDATE: I love this version of this recipe with less flour (4 1/2 cups must be a typo). I have done this recipe several times now in my bread machine and it is soooo easy and so good. I don't use packets of yeast in my bread machine. Therefore, I use 2 t. of bread machine yeast. 3 1/3 - 3 1/2 cups of bread flour. For the bread machine I prepare the dry mixture first (flour, salt and mix together) for the wet mixture I use HOT water and mix in the sugar, and add the milk. Then pour the wet into bread machine first, add dry mixture on top, make a well in the center and add the yeast. I start the machine (dough setting) and once things are mixing together a bit, I add the beaten egg to the center, close the lid and let the machine do the rest of the mixing and rising. When done, I turn the dough out onto flour and cut into 12 equal pieces. Roll out into 7-8" rounds like tortillas (no need to pinch into two balls). I place the first 4 on a platter separate each layer until all rolled out. Cover with another layer of parchment and a towel. Let rise for 30 min. Start grill, cook each side for 1-2 minutes. They will bubble and get some grill marks, flip. Done! They are quick, easy. Your hands-on time will be measuring (10 min) and rolling (15-20 min). The rest is passive time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used 1/2 the sugar, folded some cooled sautéed red onion and crushed garlic into the dough, and seasoned then with salt and garlic while grilling. They cooked faster than stated, but I made them pretty thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe! I grilled it over an open charcoal fire and got superb results. Watch them, they cook fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade naan and it received thumbs up all around. You'll need time for the dough to rise, but otherwise it is a relatively quick and easy bread - and yummy! I cooked it on my stovetop grill skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was really good. I did the dough in the bread machine. I proofed the yeast first and mixed everything together except the flour, put it in the machine, and then put the flour in the machine. The dough dries out quickly though so take it out of the machine promptly. Roll out the pieces super, super thin. Then I cooked them on the george forman brushing them with garlic butter. Don't cook them too long because you want the bread soft not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
So delicious! Absolutely perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
We cooked these on the bbq a d my entire family loved them,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States