Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by RubenC
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Really simple that even my 9 year had no problems making it. You may have to let it rise for more than an hour. I added garlic powder instead of garlic and it was delish-garlic flavor in every bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Easy and tasty bread. I couldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have made this many times and the Naan always turns out perfectly. Easy and no-fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cybele66
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe tasted great but needed tweaking to make it work. First I did not even come close to needing 4.5 cups of flour I barely used even 3 for the dough also as I tend to use the bread for mini pizzas or sandwiches the golf ball size was way too tiny and did mine more like tennis to base ball size which made a much more useful size for something other than finger food bread. I used no butter only oil. I tried the grilling method but found it very hazardous and difficult to really shape the bread. So instead I took a pizza stone and put it in my oven which I heated to 400 then I removed the stone spread a thin layer of oil on it and shaped the dough balls on it and baked it about 3-4 minutes for each side. Came out a bit lighter in color but tasted great. It took less time as I could cook more at one time than the stovetop grill method. Next time I think I will grab a plastic mat covered in plastic and try shaping the dough on that first then baking them. this made close to 11 pieces even with less flour and larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cybele66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I have been making this for a while and always loved it, but had a happy accident to share. I got distracted and mixed in minced garlic in step one. The recipe still worked and the garlic flavor really stood out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Delicious. We used the suggestions from some other reviews to add 1/2 tsp of baking soda to the dough. We cooked ours on the stovetop on a grill pan. Medium-high heat worked best to get some bubbles going, but be prepared for the butter to get pretty smoky with the heat that high. We refrigerated a number of the dough balls for two days and they still worked perfectly to roll out and cook up, so that would be a great place to stop for make-ahead prep if having company or if you want to be able to cook them up fast on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LukeyLips
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I wow'd my family and friends today! I topped them with arugula, marinated steak, grape tomatoes, bleu cheese crumbles and thinly sliced baked cinnamon apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukeyLips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss_Caroline
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Giving full score because it deserves it - but I do make changes. Someone said to add 1/2 ts baking soda - works great to make bubbles. Also, substitute natural yoghurt for milk if you happen to have some. Since I'm cooking for only two, I need to save the dough in the fridge so I don't knead the garlic into the dough. Instead, I add the garlic and chopped coriander to the butter. I roll the loaves as thin as I possibly can, place them on a greased baking tray, spread some butter mix on top and whack them on top shelf in the oven under the grill of about 2-3 mins. This works for both thinner and thicker styles of naan. They look MARVELLOUS, all yellowy, bubbly and weird. But BEWARE - do not be silly and use a paper sheet as this will catch on fire under the grill. But, as my darling boyfriend told me, 'ANY idiot should understand THAT much'... *blushing*... The house still stands, and the naan was fab! Check out the pick posted today. Xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
really really good! I do mine in a frying pan on the stove. Just flatten it out and throw in in the pan for a couple minutes a side. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drystoneoven
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I have not tried this in a grill, but have opted to use the wood fired oven I built after heating it to 900 degrees or so. They cook pretty quickly at that temp. I even took a video of cooking two:(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfszsfQBlDE I added some finely minced onion which enhances the sweetness, and on the second try I substituted homemade kefir for the milk and water. Adding kefir (or you could do some percentage of yogurt) I think gives it a more authentic taste, which is to say, more like I've had in good Indian restaurants. Bottom line is, if you don't add some kind of tangy dairy, I think you'll get naan that is very vanilla and just plain sweet tasting. Of course, without cooking it at the proper temps, you'll have difficulty creating the chewiness and bubbling that people love about authentic naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States