Naan Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This bread is delicious, even when served with butter or margarine. Takes a little while to make, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This makes nice soft naan, although I wouldn't call it chewy. Still a great result, although the recipe is strikingly similar to the one in Lord Krishna's Cuisine: The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking, by Yamuna Devi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
A good flavor (a few crushed coriander seeds work as well as the poppy seeds). The technique can be simplified by frying rather than baking, but that's a personal preference ( also the thought of a 500 degree oven frankly scares me )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I slowly added the flour mixture to the yeast mixture as I always seemed to have too much flour. I also cooked it on the grill (high heat) for a minute or two a side- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Eh. texture was nothing like naan....tastewise, yes. however, the dough didn't rise at all for me, and i found a way better recipe from an indian cookbook....i probably did something wrong with the dough, so i may try this again. however, i think cooking naan in a pan is WAAAY easier, i was in a flurry pulling the pans in and out of the oven, etc....tooooo much hard work for something dissatisfying....and a friend of mine asked her mother (who is indian), and she said that it should NOT take four hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This is a decent recipe, however may a suggest useing Black cumin or nigella seeds (1tsp). It is a more authentic Naan (from Africa).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
1st attempt at making naan bread and it was a hit! Thank you for a great addition to any of our mid-eastern recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I thought it was pretty good, although mine never did rise like the picture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Really very good. Puffed up beautifully and was a nice side to the Chicken Tikka Masala I made. The only substitutions I made: used whole wheat white flour; instead of plain, I used vanilla-flavored yogurt because it is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was my first time making naan, so maybe I did something wrong but my naan turned out hard and not chewy at all. While the taste was somewhat similar, the texture was not it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States