Naan Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Eh. texture was nothing like naan....tastewise, yes. however, the dough didn't rise at all for me, and i found a way better recipe from an indian cookbook....i probably did something wrong with the dough, so i may try this again. however, i think cooking naan in a pan is WAAAY easier, i was in a flurry pulling the pans in and out of the oven, etc....tooooo much hard work for something dissatisfying....and a friend of mine asked her mother (who is indian), and she said that it should NOT take four hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
It was great. The first batch I made puffed up alot and was very crispy. The second batch I lowered the temp to 500 and poked the top of the bread in a few places with a fork and they came out beautiful (just like the photograph. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This bread is delicious, even when served with butter or margarine. Takes a little while to make, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I slowly added the flour mixture to the yeast mixture as I always seemed to have too much flour. I also cooked it on the grill (high heat) for a minute or two a side- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Makes great pizza bread. I made a double batch and formed balls then wrapped in saran wrap and froze them. They will expand a little, but thaw very fast. Just roll out and top with favorite pizza toppings. I also added garlic and omitted yogurt, because I didn't have any. Seemed to turn out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was GREAT! The only change I made was that I used a baking stone (preheated in the oven for 45 min) instead of the pizza pan and baked the naan on parchment paper. It turned out wonderfully! Thank you sooo much for this recipe deanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Really very good. Puffed up beautifully and was a nice side to the Chicken Tikka Masala I made. The only substitutions I made: used whole wheat white flour; instead of plain, I used vanilla-flavored yogurt because it is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I thought it was pretty good, although mine never did rise like the picture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This makes nice soft naan, although I wouldn't call it chewy. Still a great result, although the recipe is strikingly similar to the one in Lord Krishna's Cuisine: The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking, by Yamuna Devi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
tasty flat bread, but pretty time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States