NY Style Rye Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is my recipe and for those unable to achieve a crisp cracker I remind you the thinner you roll them the better the result. Also, if necessary, they can be made crispier by reducing the temperature after baking, to 275F and letting them remain in the oven for additional time as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I've had the 'doughy' problem with crackers as well. I solved it after the crackers are baked normally, by putting them in a 200 - 225 degree oven (lower in my convection) until they dry out all the way through. This gets them crisp without over baking/browning. I use this same technique to make crostini brushed with olive oil and herbs... gets them nice and dry all the way through without burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
35 years ago I ate at a seafood restaurant in San Leon . They served rye crackers made by Lance with the Shrimp salad I ordered. Can't find the crackers in the store & it is only recently I decided to try looking here! Bingo! I used King Arthur's perfect rye flour which is a blend of white rye, med. rye, pumpernickel & their unbleached bread flour. I also added some of their Deli Rye Flavors, I used Mrs. Dash in place of salt, & left out the honey as I'm diabetic. I did use the caraway seeds, the onion & garlic powders. I rolled them as thin as possible & baked them a couple of minutes longer. They came out so flavorful & crisp. I cut them more narrow than in the picture & I came out with about 70 crackers. Thanks to BigShotsMom for a great recipe. I think I would like to try this with some other seasonings too. Like some dill seeds & maybe a pinch of minced dill, or perhaps add a bit of ground flax to the flour and/or a bit of crushed flax seeds on the top., They're better than the Lance crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just made with 10 total ingredients (I added cracked pepper) what the big-brand bakeries make with twice as many. It is great to know what is in my food, without ingredients I do not understand. This recipe is versatile and can be used as the basis for tons of other types of crackers. Definite imagination-starter of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Love these crunchy, flavourful crackers! Not too dry or too moist and great with cream cheese or on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Recipe has lots of room for variations. Can use different herbs & spices, make them salty or sweet, thick or thin. I used 1 cup rice flour, 1 cup all purpose, coconut oil & canola oil totalling 1/3 cup, no caraway or honey, a pinch of dill, basil and coriander and sprinkle cracked pepper on some. I found I needed to add more water than the recipe calls for and would cut the salt in 1/2. Overall, these were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I found that the crackers were a little doughy, had no snap. Is this what others have found, I even baked for an extra 5 minutes elevated on a cooling rack, in order to circulate the the air in the oven. Easiest way to spread dough is put it in-between two sheets of parchment paper, roll it out as thin as you want, transfer crackers and parchment paper onto baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I have made these twice now and we love them. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use the caraway seed, because I don't care for it . This was the first time I ever made crackers. Today I had to add a litttle more water, will be making these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Not sure how they were supposed to come out but I got four 1/8" thick uncohesive blobs of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Loved these! I tried to roll the dough through my pasta machine, but the dough was just too dry and I couldn't get it to work. I rolled by hand as thin as I could. These were very good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States