N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Absolutely loved this dish! I'm an amateur when it comes to cooking so I am always looking for simple dishes to make. This recipe proved just that for me. I substituted andouille sausage for the ham, added extra creole seasoning, added rice, and topped with cheese and these peppers were PERFECT! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only thing that was left out was that the water you boil your bell peppers in should be use to pour in the stuffing to make it moist. Then you stuffed the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
The recipe was amazing, but I definitely wished that I had read some of the reviews first. I think that adding either the chicken or beef stock would have avoided the "dryness." Otherwise, seasoning was perfect and all my housemates loved it! It will be my contribution for the next potluck I attend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lifisgud
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I cheat with Stove top stuffing. I enjoy that flavor and it's quick and easy. For the meat I use crabmeat, baby shrimp and Jimmy Dean pork sausage. I blanch my peppers before stuffing and reserve the liquid for the stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lifisgud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Sounds good. Using most components of this stuffing recipe for cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
If you follow the directions and cook the stuffing first [as moist as you like it].Blanch the peppers. Season to your liking ,this is much better than the hamburger, rice tomato stuffed peppers everybody makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carfixer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I was born & live in New Orleans and was looking for a good recipe. I gave the recipe a good rating because it was a great GUIDE for me to make great stuffed peppers. However, I had to add my New Orleans touch. I added crabmeat (claw) to the recipe and MORE season than requested (creole season, onion powder, garlic powder, I did not use salt & pepper). Taste your stuffing mixture to see if you have enough season to your liking. DO NOT drain the fat from the ground meat ( It will cause your stuffing to be dry ..if you do, add some chicken broth to the mixture to give moisture or if you blanch the peppers use the water from that. Here in New Orleans, we do blanch (boil) our peppers first before stuffing them. I also add a tiny bit of water in my baking dish then place the peppers in to bake. Next time, I will add Jimmy Dean's breakfast sauge to the recipe. That is a SECRET ingredient we add to our peppersin N.O. I followed this recipe and it was great guide.. ***If you add Jimmy Dean breakfast sauge you may not want to use as much groundmeat because it will make a lot more stuffing unless that is what you want :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Thanks. This helped so much, my first time preparing and my family enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Ann Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I loved this recipe. I did not use stuffing and bread crumbs. I used rice instead and also added Italian sausage to my ground beef mixture. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this recipe exactly per the instructions and it was so bland and void of taste. The seasoning recommended is not enough and the stuffing mix made the entire filling mushy and tasteless. I'm sorry to say I would never recommend this to anyone....:+(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States