N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I think this recipe has alot of potential. We made it last night and the stuffing mixture was very dry. I reread the recipe and there is no liquid at all to bind the stuffing mixture together ie chicken broth, eggs, etc. Next time I will add some liquid. Also it would be great with a creole cream sauce or a spicy tomato sauce as a base. It is definitely worth another try. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
This was a great meal. After reading the recipe twice and reading the 1st review I paid extra attention to the end of step #2 (Stir in the stuffing mix) and what it says in the notes below step #3 (The stuffing is fully cooked before putting the stuffed peppers in the oven. Be sure to pre cook the stuffing before mixing it in and this is a very moist delicious meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
These are just the way I remember my aunt making them for our Thanksgiving family get-together. This is the best recipe for stuffed bell peppers I have ever made. r u creole?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe so much I will make it for company next time. It is definetely going to become part of my family's cookbook. I used 6oz instead of 16oz of dry seasoned stuffing mix. I assumed it was a print error since stuffing comes in 6oz or 12oz packages not 16oz. Next time I will add some liquid to it to make it more moist. I used Emeril Lagasse's Essence recipe for the creole seasoning (you can find that on his website). The recipe had a lot of flavor and I loved it just the way it came out. But if you like things spicy you should add a little more Creole seasoning or spice it up some other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I have to agree entirely with Kathi's review- too dry. While preparing this recipe I was thinking what holds it together and where's the liquid? As I suspected, the end product was dry and crumbly. Taste was great. Since I froze 1/2 of the recipe, I will include at least one egg in the stuffing add a tomato-based sauce or something else to make more juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Flavor is terrific! To fix the dryness, try a few of these (you don't need to do them all): boil the prepared pepper halves for 2 or 3 min first, and let them dry while you prepare the rest (this prevents them from simply being sponges). Second, leave out the file -- THAT is a sponge, and adds little flavor anyway. Third, I mixed in about 3/4 can of Campbell's Tomato Soup (condensed) into the mix before stuffing (you could also use a small can of Zesty V8). Fourth, if you place the halves in a 9x13 dish to bake, just add about a half inch of water to the bottom of the pan -- that keeps things moist. I used options three and four, and loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Made this tonight and have to say it was *much* better than the run of the mill hamburger/tomato mixture. I did change a few things though: I added extra celery, 3 TBS of garlic(the kind from the jar), 4 tsp of creole seasoning and instead of the stuffing I added cooked rice in chicken broth - prior to cooking it was 2 cups) Then I added almost a cup of water so it wouldn't be too dry and 4 eggs for a binder ---- it was so YUM! It was a definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
OK! i have used this sight for years, i always thought that i should comment on some of the recipes, but never did. This recipe changed my mind. WOW!! It was easy and quick to make, the flavor was excellent! My personnal taste i would add kyane pepper to give it that southern zip. i used also used cornbread stuffing mix. and the ham gave it what it needed. Great Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I am from New Orleans and this is exactly the way we make stuff bell peppers in the Deep South. This recipe is great - excellent, excellent, excellent! To help out some of the folks who is saying that the stuffing is dry do not drain the fat when you brown the ground meat. This is what makes it moist. If you do not want the fat included then you must substitute with another liquid (i.e., beef broth) before adding the stuffing mix. Remember to slowly add the amount of stuffing mix for the texture or consistency you prefer your stuffing to be. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This one is a keeper. I changed a couple things. I changed it for 2 servings and still had a ton of stuffing. I omitted the file powder, and 1st I browned the hamburger, when almost browned, I added the celery, green pepper and I used shallot instead of onion. I used cornbread stuffing...just what was in the cupboard, and halved red peppers to stuff...topped with shredded cheddar and the bread crumbs. Oh and I added beef stock to the stuffing for moisture.....it was soooooooo good! I served it as a side to Creolized Stuffed Chicken Breasts...a recipe on this site that I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States