N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this with rice instead of stuffing and topped with breadcrumbs. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Great recipe. Easy and flavorful. Just be sure your oven is big and your guests are hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groom, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Loved these, and stayed pretty much with listed ingredients, with a tweak here or there. The only major change was to use cooked barley, which I had, instead of stuffing, which I did not. I think I will use the barley all time, as it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These Bell peppers were awesome, the only thing I did different is boil the bell peppers before stffing them so they would be tender enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I did make a few changes to "cut down" the servings. I also used very lean ground beef and Italian Sausage (50-50)The sausage comes in reg,mild, and spicy. I used spicy. I also cut the tops off the peppers at an angle close to the stem, remove the seed pod and when I finish stuffing the pepper I take a slice of cheese and seal the hole just under the edges of the hole. Then I replace the top and cook. The cheese keeps the juices and mix in the pepper and adds a little flavor as well. It also makes for a plesant presentation. I also cooked them on the stove top making a little more sauce to set them in and cover the pot until done. place the pepper in the middle of a plate, pour sauce over the top. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This were good, but not quite as good as other stuffed pepper recipes I have used, and I'm not sure why. Maybe I prefer them with tomato. Not sure. Anyway, like others, I added the dry stuffing until the mixture had the consistency I wanted, and then I added some canned beef broth for a little moisture. Not bad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
The family loved it. Made it two days in a row. I had to make an altered batch for the kids but they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Gives new meaning to stuffed bell pepper. Incredible flavor. I added sliced baby carrots for color and it added to the flovor. Great recipe!!! Kudo's to your mom!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This one is a keeper. I changed a couple things. I changed it for 2 servings and still had a ton of stuffing. I omitted the file powder, and 1st I browned the hamburger, when almost browned, I added the celery, green pepper and I used shallot instead of onion. I used cornbread stuffing...just what was in the cupboard, and halved red peppers to stuff...topped with shredded cheddar and the bread crumbs. Oh and I added beef stock to the stuffing for moisture.....it was soooooooo good! I served it as a side to Creolized Stuffed Chicken Breasts...a recipe on this site that I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I am from New Orleans and this is exactly the way we make stuff bell peppers in the Deep South. This recipe is great - excellent, excellent, excellent! To help out some of the folks who is saying that the stuffing is dry do not drain the fat when you brown the ground meat. This is what makes it moist. If you do not want the fat included then you must substitute with another liquid (i.e., beef broth) before adding the stuffing mix. Remember to slowly add the amount of stuffing mix for the texture or consistency you prefer your stuffing to be. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States