Mystic Mushroom and Quinoa Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We loved this soup. It is very thick and the flavor is awesome. Will probably try fat free half and half next time, but could even go without as the soup would be very creamy without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I followed all the directions except honey instead of molasses, and thought it was wonderful. The only problem was that it didn't really make 6 servings for me and my friends, who are probably big eaters. Plus it is so good, we all wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used millet instead of quinoa. I was out of stock so I substituted some cooking wine and water. I also added a tablespoon each of Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, and lemon juice. I used soy milk instead of cream, and it was still plenty thick. I think what really brought this to the next level was adding a touch of truffle oil at the end and garnishing with basil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
first time using quinoa and this is great :) substituted molasses with honey, cream with low fat milk, no creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Delicious! This recipe has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I made it vegan, and it's still good! I'm currently on an elimination diet which means I can eat virtually -nothing.- So, I replaced the butter with olive oil, the chicken stock with Repunzel's Sea Salt & Herbs, and the heavy cream with rice milk. It's not really your usual "chowder" consistency, but it doesn't taste like it's missing anything. Recommended, even for vegans and vegetarians, or for those watching their weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I'm an avid soup-lover, and I could eat soup all day... And this is hands-down one of the best soup recipes I've ever had! A few substitutions I made: honey for the molasses, Rapunzel Sea Salt and Herbs veggie stock for the chicken, and I was out of cream, so none of that. Mmm mmm mmm! Try it, I don't think you'll be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Loved this soup and so did my husband. Threw in a few extra portabellos that I had in the house and added 1/8 cup dry sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This soup is wonderful exactly the way it is presented. Those of you who complain about the cream ( 1 cup for six servings) I can only surmise that you are eating more than you should! I was at first hesitant about adulterating the true mushroom soup with quinoa, but I gave it a try and I'm hooked. I make a soup for every night of the winter months, 90 days, and I never repeat the same soup more than 6 times (twice a month) I think this is our favorite. "Hogwilds".........Thanks for sharing! We do finish up the left over soup in subsequent meals, it only makes up part of our meal, at lunch it will be with 1/2 a sandwich, at dinner it will be accompanied with salad or vegetable with a meat course........cream and all we are still skinny at 70+, we just don't snack.....period! Bravo to a wonderful submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Our whole family likes this soup. We add shitake mushrooms, try to use shallots when we have them, use a bit of yogurt to thicken it, and skip the food processing entirely. It's easy to make and my kids, ages 2 and almost 4, eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States