Mystic Mushroom and Quinoa Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This soup is wonderful exactly the way it is presented. Those of you who complain about the cream ( 1 cup for six servings) I can only surmise that you are eating more than you should! I was at first hesitant about adulterating the true mushroom soup with quinoa, but I gave it a try and I'm hooked. I make a soup for every night of the winter months, 90 days, and I never repeat the same soup more than 6 times (twice a month) I think this is our favorite. "Hogwilds".........Thanks for sharing! We do finish up the left over soup in subsequent meals, it only makes up part of our meal, at lunch it will be with 1/2 a sandwich, at dinner it will be accompanied with salad or vegetable with a meat course........cream and all we are still skinny at 70+, we just don't snack.....period! Bravo to a wonderful submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used millet instead of quinoa. I was out of stock so I substituted some cooking wine and water. I also added a tablespoon each of Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, and lemon juice. I used soy milk instead of cream, and it was still plenty thick. I think what really brought this to the next level was adding a touch of truffle oil at the end and garnishing with basil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I substituded milk for creme and the quinoa gives it a nice nutty flavor. However I found it to be a bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
In my opinion, any mushroom soup needs white wine and some thyme to make it spectacular... This one although nice tasting was a little on the dull side. I did however love the idea of the quinoa- it gave the soup a nice hearty texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made this recipe with high hopes due to the high rating here. I was VERY disappointed. None of my family would eat it, and we are all big Quinoa and mushroom soup eaters. I thought that I might have done something wrong, so I remade the soup, to the same disappointing results. It is bland, too thick and did not have any real mushroom flavor. I did not even see a way to change it to make it better. I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was very good. I did make a few changes. I used honey instead of molasses and I tossed in some fresh thyme at the end just before serving. No need to use cream, milk works just fine. I used vegetarian stock for chicken stock and olive oil for butter. I cooked a few extra mushrooms to stir in if anyone wanted them for texture. Great protein soup without meat and finished with a tossed green salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Loved this soup and so did my husband. Threw in a few extra portabellos that I had in the house and added 1/8 cup dry sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Loved it, subed milk for the cream. It wasn't a child pleaser though, but just the more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Our whole family likes this soup. We add shitake mushrooms, try to use shallots when we have them, use a bit of yogurt to thicken it, and skip the food processing entirely. It's easy to make and my kids, ages 2 and almost 4, eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
first time using quinoa and this is great :) substituted molasses with honey, cream with low fat milk, no creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States