Mystic Mushroom and Quinoa Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
A great soup for mushroom lovers! We made a few changes to make it healthier...no heavy cream, just milk, and Un-chicken broth to make it vegetarian. And no creme fraiche either. Had to use portabello instead of shiitake, but tasted fine...even used extra mushrooms. Added garlic too, and honey for molasses. Made a complete meal with salad and bread. A great way to add a new whole grain to your diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I'm an avid soup-lover, and I could eat soup all day... And this is hands-down one of the best soup recipes I've ever had! A few substitutions I made: honey for the molasses, Rapunzel Sea Salt and Herbs veggie stock for the chicken, and I was out of cream, so none of that. Mmm mmm mmm! Try it, I don't think you'll be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I made it vegan, and it's still good! I'm currently on an elimination diet which means I can eat virtually -nothing.- So, I replaced the butter with olive oil, the chicken stock with Repunzel's Sea Salt & Herbs, and the heavy cream with rice milk. It's not really your usual "chowder" consistency, but it doesn't taste like it's missing anything. Recommended, even for vegans and vegetarians, or for those watching their weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I love mushroom soups, but wanted to try this since it was healthier and less fattning. I liked it. I did not puree the vegies because I like my soups chunkier. After it was done, it seemed to miss something so I also added 1/8 cup of dry sherry. That was the trick, but then sherry is a wonderful addition to ANY mushroom soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
first time using quinoa and this is great :) substituted molasses with honey, cream with low fat milk, no creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Loved it, subed milk for the cream. It wasn't a child pleaser though, but just the more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Our whole family likes this soup. We add shitake mushrooms, try to use shallots when we have them, use a bit of yogurt to thicken it, and skip the food processing entirely. It's easy to make and my kids, ages 2 and almost 4, eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I was very disappointed in this recipe. Followed the directions exactly and the result was not good. Since the quinoa I have requires rinsing before using I had to rinse an hour before beginning to cook. I spread the cleansed grains in a skillet to dry then toasted. The quinoa was the best part of the recipe. Will go back to my old recipe which includes leeks, ginger, soy sauce and red wine. I will include the toasted quinoa however, that is a nice addition. This recipe tasted too bland and too much like the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is pretty darn good. Used criminis and some white mushrooms I had on hand, milk instead of cream (reduced to 3/4c) and added about a tsp of concentrated chicken base for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We loved this soup. It is very thick and the flavor is awesome. Will probably try fat free half and half next time, but could even go without as the soup would be very creamy without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States