Mystery Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
An absolutely simple and delicious cake. The best way to fool children into eating something nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and omitted the salt. I also used wheat flour. It was a yummy use for my organic beets! Highly recommended! It fooled my finicky 5-yr-old & husband in thinking it was all chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Tulley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Beets normally gross me out, but this was fantastic. I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour and used applesauce instead of oil - the cake was perfectly moist and fluffy. I also made banana/almond butter frosting and dyed it pink with the leftover beet juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My husband and I are on a lifestyle change. We are carefully watching what we eat. This cake fit in perfect with our new outlook. We both have a terrible sweet tooth, especially for chocolate, and we are able to eat this cake without all the guilt. I will for sure be making this cake again!! We could not even taste the beets in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I just ate a piece and YUMMMMMM! I frosted with "Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting". My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Not real pretty, but sure did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i just love to trick my children!! i thought this cake tasted like hoho's. i use wheat germ and whole wheat flour makes a great cake-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I love this cake recipe! My daughter has asked for this cake every birthday since she was 4, she also loves helping make it. I use canned beets that I then puree and applesauce replaces the oil, we also throw in a bag of mini semi sweet chocolate chips. Its so good we don't even add any icing. You won't really be able to test this cake with a toothpick, it is so moist. It is a favorite amongst my kids and my coworkers and I don't feel guilty eating this cake either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Best chocolate cake I've made. Not too sweet though, but that makes it perfect for frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this for my daughter's Birthday. It's a recipe I had many years ago and lost. I had cut it from a Chatelaine magazine. I'm glad I've found it again. It's as delicious as I remembered it to be! I'm not about to lose it this time! By the way since I have to stick to a low fat diet because of surgery I made it with a 1/2 c. of oil and substituted a 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce for the other 1/2 c. of oil. It turned out perfect and every bit as delicious! The best part about this cake is it's always moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States