Mystery Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
Good cake -- very yummy. You'd never know there were beets in it. I don't know if I'd make it if I didn't have a glut of beets from the garden (like now) -- it takes so long to cook the beets -- but I will make this cake again. I decreased the oil by half and replaced it with apple sauce (I do this with all my recipes) and boosted the fibre a bit by using whole wheat flour in place some of the all purpose. (I hadn't done that with cakes before, just breads and muffins, but it worked out fine.) Hopefully that will shave a few grams off the per serving fat content, while still leaving a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very yummy cake. I subbed all the oil for a cup of applesauce, added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 2/3c dark chocolate chips. I think the cinn masks the somewhat overpowering earthy taste of the beets. Another recommendation is to beat the eggs well for a fluffier cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this for my daughter's Birthday. It's a recipe I had many years ago and lost. I had cut it from a Chatelaine magazine. I'm glad I've found it again. It's as delicious as I remembered it to be! I'm not about to lose it this time! By the way since I have to stick to a low fat diet because of surgery I made it with a 1/2 c. of oil and substituted a 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce for the other 1/2 c. of oil. It turned out perfect and every bit as delicious! The best part about this cake is it's always moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Beets normally gross me out, but this was fantastic. I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour and used applesauce instead of oil - the cake was perfectly moist and fluffy. I also made banana/almond butter frosting and dyed it pink with the leftover beet juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This cake is absolutely stunning. I will make this anytime I need a choc cake or cupcakes. So unbelievably moist! Absolutely no hint of beet. I took other reviewers' advice and pureed the beets. I actually pureed the beets in the blender along with the eggs and oil - the result was intensely pink, smooth and creamy. I then poured that out into a bowl and followed the recipe as stated from there. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter, except I used olive oil instead of reg veg oil, and the result was fabulous. I made cupcakes and baked at the stated temp for about 18 minutes. Thanks! A gorgeous recipe! **Update** I made these a second time for my husband's birthday BBQ, and two different people told me they were the best chocolate cupcakes they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Being a gardener myself, I enjoyed this recipe. There is something quite satisfying about using the fruits (or vegetables) of your labor in new ways. I could detect a slightly "different" taste from a regular chocolate cake, but it wasn't overwhelming. Although I wouldn't go out of my way to make this cake if I didn't have fresh beets to use, I'm sure I'll make it again next harvest. I didn't get the chance to "test" it on any kids :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Best chocolate cake I've made. Not too sweet though, but that makes it perfect for frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Right good. I'm not a fan of super-chocolatey desserts, but this was just chocolate enough to satisfy without being killer chocolately...my favorite! My super-picky dad enjoyed it too. I also like the fact that it's dairy-free. I dusted the finished product with a mixture of cocoa powder and powdered sugar. Perfect! And it kept well over the week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
An absolutely simple and delicious cake. The best way to fool children into eating something nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I really wanted this recipe to turn out well, what a great way to use up beets, not to mention their healthful benefits. But my husband and son hated them. I did care much for them either. the beet taste was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States