Mystery Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Pretty good for having beets in it. Will make again if I have beets to use but I would for sure add chocolate chips to add chocolate and hide the beet texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Beets normally gross me out, but this was fantastic. I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour and used applesauce instead of oil - the cake was perfectly moist and fluffy. I also made banana/almond butter frosting and dyed it pink with the leftover beet juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very yummy cake. I subbed all the oil for a cup of applesauce, added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 2/3c dark chocolate chips. I think the cinn masks the somewhat overpowering earthy taste of the beets. Another recommendation is to beat the eggs well for a fluffier cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this for my daughter's Birthday. It's a recipe I had many years ago and lost. I had cut it from a Chatelaine magazine. I'm glad I've found it again. It's as delicious as I remembered it to be! I'm not about to lose it this time! By the way since I have to stick to a low fat diet because of surgery I made it with a 1/2 c. of oil and substituted a 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce for the other 1/2 c. of oil. It turned out perfect and every bit as delicious! The best part about this cake is it's always moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Good recipe, but I prefer Zucchini cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Right good. I'm not a fan of super-chocolatey desserts, but this was just chocolate enough to satisfy without being killer chocolately...my favorite! My super-picky dad enjoyed it too. I also like the fact that it's dairy-free. I dusted the finished product with a mixture of cocoa powder and powdered sugar. Perfect! And it kept well over the week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I just ate a piece and YUMMMMMM! I frosted with "Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting". My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My husband and young daughters (all of whom hate beets) ate large pieces just now. It is an excellent recipe but I made some changes, some of which might've helped or not. I substituted applesauce for the oil which, I think made the cake more dense. I also added diary free chocolate chips which added to the chocolatey richness. Then I frosted with dark fudge frosting which made it even more rich and blends the slight beety flavor better than, say a milk chocolate. I'm not sure my husband knows there are beets in the cake. I'll tell him when it's all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and omitted the salt. I also used wheat flour. It was a yummy use for my organic beets! Highly recommended! It fooled my finicky 5-yr-old & husband in thinking it was all chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Tulley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
An absolutely simple and delicious cake. The best way to fool children into eating something nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States