Mystery Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe! I made it like the recipe said and added a handful of chocolate chips on top before I baked it. It's not overly sweet, but my picky 4 year old (hence the beets disguised in cake) gobbled it up. I think frosting on it, glaze or even a sprinkling of powdered sugar would be great too. But since he's eating it like it is... Great recipe! UPDATE: I pureed the beets in my food processor instead of mashing so that they would blend in as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Marvelous! My dad unintentionally challenged me to hide beets in baked goods. He thought it sounded wrong. I scaled the recipe to 16 servings and made it into 12 cupcakes. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, replaced the oil with applesauce and lowered the sugar a bit. I needed to puree the beets because mashing them left too many indiscrete chunks. I'm about to test them on my sister who doesn't know they have beets in them! Can't wait to fool my dad too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Not real pretty, but sure did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was suprisingly good. I didn't have enough of the beets on hand so I also added 2 carrots to my pureed beets to equal the amount required. Also folded in some chocolate chips before baking. My kids are chowing down on it every night after dinner. Hubby didn't care for it too much (said it wasn't chocolatey enough) so that's why only 4 stars. He still doesn't know what is really in it, he just thought it needed more chocolate :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Best chocolate cake I've made. Not too sweet though, but that makes it perfect for frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My husband and I are on a lifestyle change. We are carefully watching what we eat. This cake fit in perfect with our new outlook. We both have a terrible sweet tooth, especially for chocolate, and we are able to eat this cake without all the guilt. I will for sure be making this cake again!! We could not even taste the beets in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I love this cake recipe! My daughter has asked for this cake every birthday since she was 4, she also loves helping make it. I use canned beets that I then puree and applesauce replaces the oil, we also throw in a bag of mini semi sweet chocolate chips. Its so good we don't even add any icing. You won't really be able to test this cake with a toothpick, it is so moist. It is a favorite amongst my kids and my coworkers and I don't feel guilty eating this cake either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very nice recipe. Cake was moist with a good crumb and depth of flavor that cocoa alone can't accomplish. I did sub out half the oil for unsweetened applesauce to cut down on fat. Lessons learned: I nuked whole beets minus tops in the microwave for about 18 minutes with a bit of water, then peeled them and mashed. It was the easiest way I could think of to cook the beets. However, I should have actually pureed them as I ended up with visible bits of beets in my cake... oops. Still, this was a very good cake and DH didn't mind the "weird addition" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEANUTPUTTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i just love to trick my children!! i thought this cake tasted like hoho's. i use wheat germ and whole wheat flour makes a great cake-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Pretty good for having beets in it. Will make again if I have beets to use but I would for sure add chocolate chips to add chocolate and hide the beet texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States