Mystery Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This cake was delicious. I used it for my son's 2nd birthday party and it was a huge hit. I used only 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c applesauce to replace half the oil, just to make it a little more waist friendly. I don't even like beets- no one could believe the ingredients! Must have chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Loved it! I made cake pops out of it for my daughters birthday party! Kids couldn't taste the beets and plus I replaced half the oil with apple sauce. I also only put in 1 cup of brown sugar. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My kids tasted something different here, I tried to keep it a mystery, but they insisted on knowing what in the world was in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I made this for my fiance who is a very picky eater. He loved it! He shared it with his contruction co-workers during lunch and they all loved it too. He still does not know what the secret ingredient is nor does he really want to. I made it becasue my friends brought me a lot of beet roots from their garden and I did not know what to do with them. As if beet cake was not healthy enough I also substituted half of the oil for apple sauce. This cake was very moist and delicious. I am making it again and this time will put some icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I had beets and needed to use them, so I did this. We don't like the taste of beets and you could taste it in this recipe a little. The beet taste wasn't as noticeable the next day when they had cooled completely and they were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Ugh. I did not care for this cake. No one would eat it. Be warned that the beet taste is pretty strong. I love beets, but their earthy flavor was unpleasant in this recipe. If you do try this recipe, make sure to mash the beets really, really well. There were a few small pieces of beet in my cake that got chewy and tough after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I really wanted this recipe to turn out well, what a great way to use up beets, not to mention their healthful benefits. But my husband and son hated them. I did care much for them either. the beet taste was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamflynow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This cake is absolutely stunning. I will make this anytime I need a choc cake or cupcakes. So unbelievably moist! Absolutely no hint of beet. I took other reviewers' advice and pureed the beets. I actually pureed the beets in the blender along with the eggs and oil - the result was intensely pink, smooth and creamy. I then poured that out into a bowl and followed the recipe as stated from there. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter, except I used olive oil instead of reg veg oil, and the result was fabulous. I made cupcakes and baked at the stated temp for about 18 minutes. Thanks! A gorgeous recipe! **Update** I made these a second time for my husband's birthday BBQ, and two different people told me they were the best chocolate cupcakes they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
It's not, like, THE BEST chocolate cake you've ever had... but for a cake made with beets in it? It's freaking awesome. I frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States