Mystery Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by erinastone
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Yummy! Me and my 4 year old made these after we bought too many beets at the farmers market. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This cake was just so-so to me. It was moist and I loved the idea of using beets, but I was looking for more chocolate flavor. I paired it with a fudge frosting and that helped some, but I think next time I'll try a beet cake that uses baking chocolate. If you're looking for a nice, moist cake with mild chocolate flavor, this might be for you. If you're like me and want lots of chocolate flavor, you might want to try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smaakmaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I turned this cake into muffins. While warm, it had a slight beet flavour, but once it cooled, you could not notice it. I found it was missing something though, so I made a second batch with semi-sweet chocolate chips and it was perfect! It is my new favourite chocolate cake! I followed the suggestions of some of the other reviewers and pureed the beets with the wet ingredients. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This cake was fabulous! I was a little worried about it because of some of the negative reviews, but it turned out wonderfully and was a great way to use up some beets. Following other reviewers' advice, I added a little cinnamon and pureed the beets. The cake had a little bit of a distinctive flavor, but no one I served it to could tell it was beets and they all loved it! It was very moist and kept well for a few days. I frosted it with Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting, which was an excellent choice. All in all, a keeper recipe-thanks, Lenna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
In the words of my 4 and 7 year old children--"this is the best chocolate cake EVER!" I was originally a little leery because of some comments but I decided to go ahead and try it since my hubby had asked me to make a chocolate cake with beets. I made a few adjustments like baking the beets because I love baked beets, and I also pureed the beets with the oil and eggs like someone else had suggested. It turned out wonderfully, in fact, my daughter has asked me to make this for her birthday cake in a few weeks! They don't need to know it has beets in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
If it sounds too good to be true.... I definitely taste the beets. But- my 4 year old and her friends ate it and thought it was a treat! So, my review is mixed- if you want to slip your children some beets - this just might work! Consistency and appearance of the cake is great, cake is moist - it is a good recipe...if you like chocolate cake with a hint of beet! I did puree the beets in a processor before mixing, and used 1/2 applesauce as other reviewers mentioned. No other changes made to the recipe. I probably won't make it again, but it was an interesting experiment with beets we had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Definitely my new go-to chocolate cake. Do not judge this cake by the taste of the batter! I used two small cans of beets (make sure they're fresh canned and not pickled!) which is a little more beets than called for. I also pureed the beets, oil and eggs in a blender as one cook advised. This made two 9" round cakes. You can't call it "healthy" cake (lots of suger!) but there are few other cake recipes that can boast a good source of folate, manganese and potassium!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Yum! Fluffy and moist! As others have said, replace half butter with apple or banana, and cut half the sugar. You can always make up for the butter and sugar when you add frosting :) Some said that the beet flavor was too strong, I'd recommend using canned beets, not a trace of beet flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I loved this recipe. I ended up having to puree the beets in a food processor to get the consistency I wanted, but it turned out great. I also made them into cupcakes, which did not change the moisture or richness of the recipe. I highly recommend! A great way to sneak beets into kiddo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Thank you for this recipe!I've been wanting to try a cake like this for a few years and I'm delighted with the results. So moist and rich, it's quelling my chocolate cravings PERFECTLY! Will def add this to my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishCattleWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinkley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States