My Sister's Favorite Potato Salad...Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I've never been a big fan of potato salads, but this one is excellent. I used miracle whip instead of mayonnaise (personal preference) and added about half a teaspoon of sugar, and it turned out great. Rich, creamy, and full of flavor. I'll definitely be bringing this to summer barbeques!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
too much dressing for the amount of potatoes. i also added more traditional potato salad stuff like eggs, onion, celery, pickle relish. Otherwise it was very good, very dilly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This potato salad is very good, especially if you like dill. I added a little chopped red onion and a couple of chopped hard-boiled eggs, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very good salad...with a few changes I made. I used miracle whip (1/4 C) and sour cream (1 C) instead of the mayo (makes it lighter and fluffier and adds zest) and regular mustard instead of Dijon. Also, I didn't add the vinegar to the dressing, but instead sprinkled it over the hot potatoes when they were done cooking. That way, it soaks into the potatoes to give them more flavor. Also added diced onion and garlic powder along with some freshly ground pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This potato salad rocks! Next time I'll use a bit less vinegar (just a personal taste), but overall this is great potato salad. I love the dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was great but only because I added the following: 1 tbsp mayonnaise ( was just enough) 1/3 cup Green onions 2 tbsp Honey mustard 4 pickles chopped up 4 eggs chopped up 2 celery chopped up 2 tbsp paprika Delish! I also used 8 small red potatoes and left the skin on and cut into chunks, it was much easier and faster this way and looked great too!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very very tangy. I omitted celery salt because I didn't have any. I did add just a tad more mustard and 4 eggs. I'm taking it to a church function tomorrow, and won't know until then how it will be received, but I like it. It was easy to prepare. I love vinegar and everything vinegar, so it was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
No celery salt, reduced mayo, added sour cream, chopped onion, chopped hard-boiled egg. Finally, a yummy potato salad I can enjoy that doesn't call for pickles! The dill flavor is sooooo good! Keeper, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used a 3 lb. bag of red potatoes and the exact amount of the remaining ingredients and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is a very easy recipe and it turns are great. I used 3 pounds of red pototoes and chilled it for about 2 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States