My Sister's Favorite Potato Salad...Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was good. Everyone liked it. I added celery and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. I used about 20 baby red-skinned potatoes and found that 1/4c vinegar was still far too much. I would use about half of the vinegar. Rather than adhering to the suggested amount of mayo, I suggest squirting mayo over the potatoes, stirring and adding more to taste. I also used spicy brown mustard. Adding pickles, celery and about4-5 hard boiled eggs really enhanced the salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMcD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Tasty - for vinegar lovers only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Super tangy and lovin' it! I did as someone suggested by substituting balsamic vinegar and finely chopped celery. As a caveat, don't overboil the potatoes like I did, otherwise you'll have smashed potatoes on your hands instead of a "salad".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was great but only because I added the following: 1 tbsp mayonnaise ( was just enough) 1/3 cup Green onions 2 tbsp Honey mustard 4 pickles chopped up 4 eggs chopped up 2 celery chopped up 2 tbsp paprika Delish! I also used 8 small red potatoes and left the skin on and cut into chunks, it was much easier and faster this way and looked great too!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very good salad...with a few changes I made. I used miracle whip (1/4 C) and sour cream (1 C) instead of the mayo (makes it lighter and fluffier and adds zest) and regular mustard instead of Dijon. Also, I didn't add the vinegar to the dressing, but instead sprinkled it over the hot potatoes when they were done cooking. That way, it soaks into the potatoes to give them more flavor. Also added diced onion and garlic powder along with some freshly ground pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was really good, but I also added celery, shredded carrot and green onions. Garlic would have been good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Great flavor, but I think think it needed some more ingredients like maybe celery, onions or maybe something more creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This potato salad is very good, especially if you like dill. I added a little chopped red onion and a couple of chopped hard-boiled eggs, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States