My Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
the best pound cake i have ever made!! the key is don't over mix! delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is the best pound cake I have ever made! I have searched and searched for the right recipe and this is it. Will not search any more! Perfect texture and lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I really cant cook. There I said it. I was skeptical making this because everything else I make will sit there until I eventually throw it away or my toddler decides he'd rather eat SOME. This cake was GONE within two days. TWO days. I couldn't believe it came out of my kitchen. If you really want to show off, add a tablespoon of lemon extract, rum extract, butter extract, vanilla extract and coconut extract. I still can't believe this cake tasted that dayum good. And I can't cook (which my husband reminds me of in subtle ways)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I will probably use this as my basic pound cake recipe in the future, though I don't consider it fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Although the flavor was good...just way too much butter for me...just a matter of personal taste I am sure...there are other recipes listed that have good flavor and texture...but are not as WEIGHED down by fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funmom25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I enjoy vintage recipes and whether or not you are aware of it - this is as close as you to get to the old "one pound of all ingredients" found in old recipe books. Thank you, Arvilla, for reminding me to make this cake once again! Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Wonderful, it is the recipe I have been looking for, my husband does not like cakes at all ,I made him taste this cake, and since then he asks me every week to bake him a pound cake. He even takes some to work with his lunch. My twist to this cake is that I used 1 cup of mild and 1/4 cup of fresh orange juice plus the zest on one orange. I sent the recipe to my friends, they all loved it, Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I was looking for a good pound cake and something sweet for this cold Colorado day. This pound cake was great. My family can't stop eating it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a fabulous recipe. I added orange flavoring instead of butternut. And I was able to scale the recipe to fit my pan size, as pans here in Brazil don't measure the same as in the states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was one of the best pound cakes i have ever made! It was very moist and absolutely delicious. The only modification I made to it was instead of the 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon butternut flavored extract, I added 1 tablespoon of lemon extract. I will be making this cake again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States