My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I love stuffed grape leaves! This recipe is wonderful. I softened the fresh leaves in the left over chicken broth by bringing it to a boil, putting the leaves in and shutting the flame off till I was ready to fill them. I put several larger leaves on the bottom of my LeCruset pan and several more on the top of the second layer. I forgot to put a plate on top of that, but I only had two swell enough to loose the rice. I simmered them about an hour and only cooked the Carolina rice for 10 minutes. I let it all cool before filling so that made the mixture sticky enough to fill and not mushy. I plan to try canning these since I have lots of grape leaves and fresh mint & dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Perfect as is, though I do prefer vegetable broth. One tip to share: Wash, dry and FREEZE the leaves. Freezing tenderizes (by wilting) them - as tender as the canned leaves. You just have to leave them in freezer long enough for them to be completely frozen - it all depends on how large a stack you put it. Defrost completely, separate carefully, and roll 'em up. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Work out well. Used dried dill added extra onion some garlic, dried basil, and black pepper very yummy. Used extra stuffing in trader joes s sweet n spicy red cherry peppers with assiago cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Paolucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shifter
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These are wonderful! The rice stuffing smelled amazing!!! What a great recipe. This was my first time making stuffed grape leaves and it was a fun and delicious experience following this recipe! I added a little olive oil when sautéing my onions and herbs, and forgot to add it at the end, but they still turned out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I gave this recipe four stars for the flavor alone, because it balanced and savory. The mint is just perfect. I would have given five stars, but I have made this recipe a couple of times and had similar issues every time. One is that one cup of olive oil is gratuitous to a fault. I got by with two-thirds of a cup easily, and the flavor did not suffer. The second is that in order for these to reach the correct filling texture, and for the leaves to soften, these rolls must sit at least a day. The first day and for most of the second day, the filling is mushy and the leaves are chewey. Once they sit, however, they mellow, and they are indeed very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
\We love grape leaves but these were horrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Schaible
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Thank you these were awesome. This was my first time making these. I wouldn't change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Schaible

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was very time consuming since it was my first time making it. I prefer to use fresh herbs such as mint, dill, and onions. Sautéing the dill, onion, and mint in olive oil released plenty of aroma and flavor. Dry herbs doesn't bring that out as much. Mixing dry rice with the ingredients spread evenly in the pot. I didn't have chicken broth, so I added 2 cubes of chicken bouillon into the rice after adding water. It smelled amazing while the ingredients were cooking. By the way, I used 1.5 cups of brown rice and two cups of water. I followed the instructions for the grape leaves by draining the majority of the grape leaves and rinsing it thoroughly then putting them in room temperature water for 10 minutes. After my rice was almost cooked, I added some lemon juice, then I let the rice cook completely. Wrapping the rice in grape leaves was a little challenging, though after a few tries, I finally got it. Finally, placing the stuffed leaves into a large pot, added lemon juice and olive oil and simmered with chicken broth. Since I noted earlier that I didn't have chicken broth, I boiled some water added 1 cube of chicken bouillon, poured the chicken broth over the stuffed grape leaves, but I only poured enough to cover the bottom of the pot allowing condensation do the job of cooking. This really prevented the rice from expanding out of the leaves. I let the stuffed grapes leaves cooled down, drizzled some olive oil and sprinkle some more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Montenegro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the most authentic recipe I have ever tried. It actually tastes like I am back in Thessaloniki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States