My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I soaked the beans overnight and put them in the crockpot today on high until it was bubbling and then turned down to low until the beans were cooked. Sauteed the veggies in olive oil and used 1 qt of Trader Joe's low sodium organic vegetable broth and 3 c of chicken stock - I was worried about the other reviews mentioning the saltiness and the veggie broth was all I had that was low sodium. I'm glad I did - we really liked the added flavors from the veggie broth (including tomato). I cubed a 1lb ham steak instead of bacon. When the beans were tender I took out 2 c of the soup, pureed and added back to thicken the soup (I pulled out the ham cubes so they didn't get pureed). I also let it cook without the top on for about 45 min to thicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Been making this recipe since I found it here Love it! I do soak my beans over night. Even the kids like this one will be making this for years to come! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Overnight soaking not needed with pressure cooker! Place 1 lb. navy beans in pressure cooker. Add 8 cups cold water. Bring cooker to pressure. Turn off heat, leave sealed for one hour. Beans are now perfectly ready for any recipe. No gas after effects with this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I was so disappointed!! Really looking forward to liking this, but it was extremely bland. I had to doctor it up quite a bit for any of us to enjoy it. Added salt, pepper, thyme and garlic, just to make it a passable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great recipe to get more beans in my kids diet. They all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this really was salty- so glad i added a whole quart of water. it's a decent base, but needs something more. next time i'll up the carrots, add something green(kale? spinach? parsley?) and use a hamhock. could also been good with some mushrooms in it. definitely has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Lacked flavor. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a wonderful base to add layers of flavor to. Instead of ham or bacon, I used smoked pork neck bones, (tie in a piece of cheesecloth and drop in);very inexpensive but adds a wonderful slightly smoky vibe to the whole thing. Also a little Thyme, 1 bay leaf and a couple cloves of garlic and a big pinch of cayenne pepper along with the other listed ingredients. I never serve the same day it's made, but the next day every morsel disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I soaked, then cooked the beans until soft in water only. Then cooked further to reduce the water. Adding chicken broth or any salt before they softened would have made them tough. I skipped all frying of anything, why add extra oil or grease? I also used pre-chopped and frozen onions, red & green pepper and celery. Added several carrots cut into rounds, chopped celery and various spices. Last I added pre-chopped ham and let all simmer until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
It was okay...not really impressed though. No one else in the family really cared for it either, it seemed to be lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Brown

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States