My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Been making this recipe since I found it here Love it! I do soak my beans over night. Even the kids like this one will be making this for years to come! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Overnight soaking not needed with pressure cooker! Place 1 lb. navy beans in pressure cooker. Add 8 cups cold water. Bring cooker to pressure. Turn off heat, leave sealed for one hour. Beans are now perfectly ready for any recipe. No gas after effects with this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I was so disappointed!! Really looking forward to liking this, but it was extremely bland. I had to doctor it up quite a bit for any of us to enjoy it. Added salt, pepper, thyme and garlic, just to make it a passable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great recipe to get more beans in my kids diet. They all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this really was salty- so glad i added a whole quart of water. it's a decent base, but needs something more. next time i'll up the carrots, add something green(kale? spinach? parsley?) and use a hamhock. could also been good with some mushrooms in it. definitely has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Lacked flavor. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a wonderful base to add layers of flavor to. Instead of ham or bacon, I used smoked pork neck bones, (tie in a piece of cheesecloth and drop in);very inexpensive but adds a wonderful slightly smoky vibe to the whole thing. Also a little Thyme, 1 bay leaf and a couple cloves of garlic and a big pinch of cayenne pepper along with the other listed ingredients. I never serve the same day it's made, but the next day every morsel disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I soaked, then cooked the beans until soft in water only. Then cooked further to reduce the water. Adding chicken broth or any salt before they softened would have made them tough. I skipped all frying of anything, why add extra oil or grease? I also used pre-chopped and frozen onions, red & green pepper and celery. Added several carrots cut into rounds, chopped celery and various spices. Last I added pre-chopped ham and let all simmer until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
It was okay...not really impressed though. No one else in the family really cared for it either, it seemed to be lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuug
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I liked this soup but next time I will use ham. Did not care for bacon's texture after sitting in broth and I did fry it crispy. I used chicken stock I had made by cooking the chicken, chunks of celery and onion. I then removed all of that for a wonderful tasting broth. To that broth, I added the pre-soaked navy beans and the carrots chopped. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States