My Mother's Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Thank you !!! yes I have the Home and Garden Cook Book I learned How To Cook from The Home and Garden Cook Book when I was 14 years old Still cooing from it for you see I collect Recipe Books and also colleted Music Boxes!!! I treasure It. The Pancakes are the Best and Delish !!! Also The Ice Cake Is So Delish I make the pancakes still to this day and the Ice Cream Cake for the Family Birthdays!!! I have My Own Recipe Blueberry, Cherry Chesse Kake Thank you!!! May God Bless, auntbea (From Maryland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntbea09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Just made these pancakes for breakfast. Very thick. I had to thin out the batter with more milk. Next time I make them I won't use as much flour. We loved them. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I read through the reviews before I made this recipe. I did double the recipe BUT I cut the flour back by half (two cups for a doubled recipe). I did use vegetable oil instead of olive oil only because I didn't have enough on hand. Good basic pancake recipe that turned out very fluffy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This were good and easy to make. They didn't cook evenly for me-- not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
tried this one because of "the book".i remember it on my moms counter.way better than the "just add water" i was looking for in the pantry :).ended up being out of syrup also.smeared on some strawberry jelly and honey and good to go.puts the "cake" in pancake. will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perky
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Thick and extremely heavy, made this recipe twice thinking it was an error on my part however same turnout both times even when using less flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Pretty Good- It's true, 1 Cup of flour is plenty! A good classic recipe for pancakes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
i make these all the time, i use less flour that it says either way they are very filling pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was adding a little more sugar and a pinch of salt. As for the batter being too thick, well, didn't the author say that flour was to be added little by little until the batter reaches the desired thickness? I used about 1 1/4 cups the first time and even less than that second time (probably about one cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States