My Mother's Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I read through the reviews before I made this recipe. I did double the recipe BUT I cut the flour back by half (two cups for a doubled recipe). I did use vegetable oil instead of olive oil only because I didn't have enough on hand. Good basic pancake recipe that turned out very fluffy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was adding a little more sugar and a pinch of salt. As for the batter being too thick, well, didn't the author say that flour was to be added little by little until the batter reaches the desired thickness? I used about 1 1/4 cups the first time and even less than that second time (probably about one cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This recipe definitely turns out great as is, minus 1 cup of flour (maybe its a typo?). Other than that, my wife loves these and the recipe yields us about 6 large (think Denny's) fluffy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OstroskyJeremiah

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Makes about 10-12 small very fluffy pancakes. I added about a fourth cup more milk than the recipe called for to thin the batter out a bit. One child loved them, one child thought they were too thick. These were easy to make and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
batter comes out too thick, i thinned it out with more milk, but they didn't taste that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
tried this one because of "the book".i remember it on my moms counter.way better than the "just add water" i was looking for in the pantry :).ended up being out of syrup also.smeared on some strawberry jelly and honey and good to go.puts the "cake" in pancake. will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perky
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Pretty Good- It's true, 1 Cup of flour is plenty! A good classic recipe for pancakes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The batter was way too thick, so we DOUBLED the milk amount. They still turned out thick and tasted like thick cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Thick and extremely heavy, made this recipe twice thinking it was an error on my part however same turnout both times even when using less flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States