My Mother's Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Makes about 10-12 small very fluffy pancakes. I added about a fourth cup more milk than the recipe called for to thin the batter out a bit. One child loved them, one child thought they were too thick. These were easy to make and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
batter comes out too thick, i thinned it out with more milk, but they didn't taste that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I thought they were good. The batter was too thick at first, so we added about another 1/4c milk. They were very puffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The recipe does state to add flour a 1/2 cup at a time until you reach your desired thickness. I added about 1 1/3 cups of flour. I also added 1 tsp of salt to bring out the flavors. That might be why some reviewers found there pancakes to be bland. I used 1 tsp of vanilla and a shake or two of cinnamon. They turned out great. I only rated three stars because I had to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The batter was way too thick, so we DOUBLED the milk amount. They still turned out thick and tasted like thick cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This recipe definitely turns out great as is, minus 1 cup of flour (maybe its a typo?). Other than that, my wife loves these and the recipe yields us about 6 large (think Denny's) fluffy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OstroskyJeremiah

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was adding a little more sugar and a pinch of salt. As for the batter being too thick, well, didn't the author say that flour was to be added little by little until the batter reaches the desired thickness? I used about 1 1/4 cups the first time and even less than that second time (probably about one cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
i make these all the time, i use less flour that it says either way they are very filling pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Pretty Good- It's true, 1 Cup of flour is plenty! A good classic recipe for pancakes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States