My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The pan of this stuff did not last long! Plums gave it a slightly tart flavor, which is a great contrast to the sweetness of the bread. I lacked enough white sugar, so I used 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Did not have margarine, so used softened butter instead. Also, added chopped pecans to the top, right underneath the brown sugar topping. Easy to make, and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Delicious, moist, not overly sweet--perfect for morning coffeecake! Prepared w/Splenda granulated instead of sugar, plain organic yogurt & 1 heaping cup of ripe small French plums. Baked for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenRookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Tell you mother-in-law "thank you," for me! This is wonderful. I also use the base recipe to make blackberry muffins with blackberries from our yard! (Makes 12 medium muffins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I was looking for a way to use up the abbundance of plums we had from my parent's tree, and was so glad to have found this recipe. It is a wonderful blend of sweet and tart between the brown surgar and the plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious,moist,thick batter holds fruit evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Just made 2 loaves. Added 1/2 c more of the plums and I didn't have yogurt so I used sour cream , used 1/3 c butter. I added in 1/2 tsp of orange extract also. Very yummy!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was excellent! Although I misread the recipe and put the brown sugar in the mix, it was sweet but still really good. I also added a few more plums than called for, because I like really fruity bread. Getting ready to make another batch, following the recipe this time, but adding a little extra plum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I wasn't sure if I would like this or not but I had a dozen plums that needed to be used so decided to give it a shot. Consequently, I had a lot more plums than the recipe called for and used them all (approx. 4 cups), I added blueberries and used vanilla yogurt (it's what I had). My only issue with this recipe was that it took longer to cook but I think that was due to the extra plums and is therefore not a fault of the recipe, but a fault of mine for altering it. I made a loaf and 12 muffins and like it best in muffin form...yum! For anyone who knows what Tim Horton's is, this reminds me of their Fruit Explosion muffins, only better =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I used dried plums instead of fresh, as that's what I had on-hand, and it was soooooooo good! My family & guests loved it, and after an hour we were sad to find that it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is such a great recipe as is. Or you can easily mix it up just by changing the yogurt, fruit and topping. My daughter loves it with plums and mixed berry yogurt. I love it with cranberries and vanilla yogurt and sliced almonds on top ( add almonds 1/2 way thru cooking so they do not burn). Make it with mixed berries or oranges or bananas or just about anything you can dream up. And with so many flavors of yogurt the combo's are endless. Also try a crumb topping with or without nuts. This is such a great basic recipe to play with. I've done so much with it and it alway's turns out great and moist. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe It's in my "Special" cook book now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States