My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Quick, easy and delicious way to use up the plums my son wouldn't eat because they had softened. I, like others had to sub sour cream for the yogurt, because I didn't have any. I will make this again, possibly to "use up" other fruits that are past their prime. I wish I hadn't thrown away those golden cherries last week. Those, with a little almond extract would probably have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Love plums and this bread. The addition of a tbls. of orange rind makes it even better for us. The same problem exists with ratings unfortunately because you cannot rate a recipe with 5 if you have totally changed it. Sorry, but this is always happening and no doubt hear it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was really good. Nice and moist. The only problem I had was getting it to come out clean from the pan. The bottom tends to stick. I oiled pan. Then I tried parchment paper, still broke apart. I think I may have used too much plum, 2 cups of plums and maybe that was why. But as far as flavor goes, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I needed to find a way to use up all the plums we have this year, this was a yummy bread, my daughter said it was better than Starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made it with apples, I just had to finish some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
works great with apricots also moist tart will add this to my loaf bread recipes 4 sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Delish. Reminded me of what my mom used to call Hungarian Plum Cake. Lovely balance of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We really enjoyed this pound cake type plum bread. Lovely with a cup of coffee or tea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This bread is really moist and delicious. I followed the recipe as is and the only thing I might change is to cut the sugar a little but that is just a personal preference. Otherwise it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love fruit breads but my kids won't eat fruit so I pureed the plums to a chunky salsa consistency. It took a bit longer (almost 20 minutes) to bake but they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States