My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
More cake-y than I was expecting, but the texture is really nice. The plums add a nice tart flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent! I made this cake a couple of days ago with minor changes (which sometimes is only due to what similar ingredient I can find in my fridge). First I bake alot with spelt flour (dinkel in german), I only use butter and full raw sugar. I like the taste of all these 3 ingredients in a cake. I didn't have yoghurt so I used sour cream. The plums I only halved and pitted and I used about 8 - 10 plums. Followed the procedure here, batter should be somewhat firm on the drier side which is good because the plums will cook and exude delicious juices making the cake wonderfully moist. Poured batter into cake tin, topped with the plum halves, cut side down starting from the outside circumference ending in the middle with some space inbetween each half (depending on how many plums you have on hand or if you really like plums alot ;-)) When the cake is baked, the plum halves will sink somewhat as the batter rises and you will have a beautiful cake with deep red dollops. I did sprinkle a bit of sugar before baking but my final finishing touch was to warm up some plum/cinnamon compote I made last season, strain to use the syrup to brush over the cake top, making the plums pop (visually and tastefully too (pardon the pun)). Cinnamon and plum is a beautiful mellow christmasy combination. You could also use a teaspoon of cinnamon for the batter if you wish for a stronger cinnamon flavor. Thank you for the recipe. FYI, there aren't even crumbs leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Yum! Made two loaves and froze one. Just as good from the freezer as from the oven and is great when toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Excellent but I doubled the soda because it didn't seem like enough... Especially since I don't have a mixer. Glad I did because it took a long time to rise anyway-very heavy batter. Taste is all there! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I baked this one as it is, it was good but little sweet for me. Then I made another one same batter but I tried apples and cashews instead of plums. I just reduced sugar to 3/4cup. Add 1tablespoon of coffee espresso powder. Then I reduce the brown sugar to 1/8 cup and added 1/8 cup bread crumbs. I brush the pan wiht some butter and sprinkled some brown sugar-bread crumbs mixture, I put the batter on the pan and topped again with B.sugar-b.crumbs. It adds crispiness to the crust of the bread :) Me, my bF, relatives & my neighboor likes it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Wow. This was super easy and so good! I did sub real butter and half white sugar, half brown because that happened to be what I had on hand. I also used 2 cups of fruit instead of 1. Tripled the recipe to use up an excess of plums and I'm glad I did, this is not going to last long! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I enjoyed this, and it is really easy to make. I used strawberry yogurt, as that is what I had on hand. I don't think it matters - the yogurt if more for the sake of moisture. The "bread" itself is more similar to cake as far as consistency, and it tastes as though jam has been baked in - but without the sticky mess. Made it for friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have plain yogurt so the only thing I changed was I used cottage cheese instead which I blended to get rid of the lumps and then added a little milk to be the same consistency as yogurt. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Super yummy recipe. Made it twice so far and love it. Only switched the marg for butter. Will be trying this recipe with other fruits. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I used dried plums instead of fresh, as that's what I had on-hand, and it was soooooooo good! My family & guests loved it, and after an hour we were sad to find that it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States