My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this with fresh plums someone gave me (I was wondering what to do with them all and came across this recipe). It was absolutely delicious - I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I have made several batches of bread using this recipe. My first batch was way too sweet for me and my family. It was a struggle to finish two loaves of bread that I made. For the second batch, I ended up cutting the white sugar by half and did not use any brown sugar. I also doubled the plums. The result was amazing! For my third batch, I substituted the yogurt with milk and the taste is still the same. This recipe also works great for apple bread. I just add cinnamon to it and off course I deducted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyligeia1838
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Really exceptional! The texture is phenomenal: light, fluffy, almost angel food-like. I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter and it worked out wonderfully. It also didn't turn out very tart despite the plums which gave it a lovely moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! I had some plums left over from our tree, and this was such a perfect way to use them. I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain, which was completely delicious. I also used butter instead of margarine. And I had to bake it 65-70 minutes. I just made another loaf today, since the first loaf is long gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used 2 cups of chopped Italian plums from my tree, used butter and sour cream since that's all I had. Other than those ingredient changes, everything else was as followed. I lined the loaf pan with parchment paper and it came out beautiful. I did have to cook it 10 minutes longer. The toothpick came out clean but when I went to slice into it 15 minutes later, it was still a bit under cooked on the bottom. But it wasn't raw, just a little wet. Probably could of used another 5-10 minutes longer, checking every 5 minutes. The bread did fall during cooling so don't except a fluffy bread. It's dense and pretty sweet. Great way to use up my plums before they spoil. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was really great! I made the recipe exactly except I used sour cream instead of yogurt (as that's what I had on hand). I did find it took about 15 minutes longer to bake - about 65 minutes. I also floured the pan as well as greasing and the loaf turned out no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
So yummy with tart red plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It is delicious! I keep peaches and plums cut up and ready to go in the freezer! Either fruit works great in the recipe! We are blessed to have a friend who grows both! Lois Keefer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Made this today to use up some plums the kids didn't eat this week from our CSA. Oh my goodness. This was so easy and so delicious. My 10-year old declared it her favorite dessert ever and my picky 6-year old finished his dinner after trying one bite of this (in hopes of getting a piece for dessert). We will add this to the regular rotation. It's more like cake, and very sweet (bit bit overly so). We followed the directions as written, except we used about a half cup of extra plums because we had them on hand and they were already sort of past their prime. With the extra fruit, we needed about 10 minutes longer on convection to bake through. So glad I tried this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I don't want to give this recipe any stars at all, but am forced into giving it a one star. It doesn't even deserve that. We were really hoping this would be a great recipe to use up all of our plums, it was not!! The plums were very, very sweet before they went into the batter, but ended up tasting extremely tart after baking. The bread was moist but had very little flavor; I would not recommend this recipe at all :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States