My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Just made 2 loaves. Added 1/2 c more of the plums and I didn't have yogurt so I used sour cream , used 1/3 c butter. I added in 1/2 tsp of orange extract also. Very yummy!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is such a great recipe as is. Or you can easily mix it up just by changing the yogurt, fruit and topping. My daughter loves it with plums and mixed berry yogurt. I love it with cranberries and vanilla yogurt and sliced almonds on top ( add almonds 1/2 way thru cooking so they do not burn). Make it with mixed berries or oranges or bananas or just about anything you can dream up. And with so many flavors of yogurt the combo's are endless. Also try a crumb topping with or without nuts. This is such a great basic recipe to play with. I've done so much with it and it alway's turns out great and moist. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe It's in my "Special" cook book now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The pan of this stuff did not last long! Plums gave it a slightly tart flavor, which is a great contrast to the sweetness of the bread. I lacked enough white sugar, so I used 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Did not have margarine, so used softened butter instead. Also, added chopped pecans to the top, right underneath the brown sugar topping. Easy to make, and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent! I made this cake a couple of days ago with minor changes (which sometimes is only due to what similar ingredient I can find in my fridge). First I bake alot with spelt flour (dinkel in german), I only use butter and full raw sugar. I like the taste of all these 3 ingredients in a cake. I didn't have yoghurt so I used sour cream. The plums I only halved and pitted and I used about 8 - 10 plums. Followed the procedure here, batter should be somewhat firm on the drier side which is good because the plums will cook and exude delicious juices making the cake wonderfully moist. Poured batter into cake tin, topped with the plum halves, cut side down starting from the outside circumference ending in the middle with some space inbetween each half (depending on how many plums you have on hand or if you really like plums alot ;-)) When the cake is baked, the plum halves will sink somewhat as the batter rises and you will have a beautiful cake with deep red dollops. I did sprinkle a bit of sugar before baking but my final finishing touch was to warm up some plum/cinnamon compote I made last season, strain to use the syrup to brush over the cake top, making the plums pop (visually and tastefully too (pardon the pun)). Cinnamon and plum is a beautiful mellow christmasy combination. You could also use a teaspoon of cinnamon for the batter if you wish for a stronger cinnamon flavor. Thank you for the recipe. FYI, there aren't even crumbs leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Yum! Made two loaves and froze one. Just as good from the freezer as from the oven and is great when toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent! Although I made a few changes. I used 1 1/2 cup plums. Instead of 1/2 cup margarine I used 100g of butter. I knocked back the sugar to 3/4 cup and used Vanilla yogurt. It did take longer to bake because of the extra plums. (extra 20 minutes) It was really good though! I may try adding cinnamon, ground cloves or all spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I was looking for a way to use up the abbundance of plums we had from my parent's tree, and was so glad to have found this recipe. It is a wonderful blend of sweet and tart between the brown surgar and the plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Delicious, moist, not overly sweet--perfect for morning coffeecake! Prepared w/Splenda granulated instead of sugar, plain organic yogurt & 1 heaping cup of ripe small French plums. Baked for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenRookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was excellent! Although I misread the recipe and put the brown sugar in the mix, it was sweet but still really good. I also added a few more plums than called for, because I like really fruity bread. Getting ready to make another batch, following the recipe this time, but adding a little extra plum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious,moist,thick batter holds fruit evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States