My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It is delicious! I keep peaches and plums cut up and ready to go in the freezer! Either fruit works great in the recipe! We are blessed to have a friend who grows both! Lois Keefer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Made this today to use up some plums the kids didn't eat this week from our CSA. Oh my goodness. This was so easy and so delicious. My 10-year old declared it her favorite dessert ever and my picky 6-year old finished his dinner after trying one bite of this (in hopes of getting a piece for dessert). We will add this to the regular rotation. It's more like cake, and very sweet (bit bit overly so). We followed the directions as written, except we used about a half cup of extra plums because we had them on hand and they were already sort of past their prime. With the extra fruit, we needed about 10 minutes longer on convection to bake through. So glad I tried this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I don't want to give this recipe any stars at all, but am forced into giving it a one star. It doesn't even deserve that. We were really hoping this would be a great recipe to use up all of our plums, it was not!! The plums were very, very sweet before they went into the batter, but ended up tasting extremely tart after baking. The bread was moist but had very little flavor; I would not recommend this recipe at all :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This bread is delicious. My mother has plum trees in her back yard, so I used her plums and I used lemon extract instead of vanilla, not knowing how tart the plums would be....turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jkamom
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I get requests for this cake-bread all the time! I used vanilla yogurt and will try with crushed pecans or walnuts on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This bread is incredible! I added 3/4 tsp almond essence to the batter and an extra 1/2 cup of plums. I sprinkled sliced almonds and about 1 Tbsp brown sugar over the top, instead of the 1/4 cup brown sugar. For the first 1/2 of the baking time, I covered the pan with foil so the almonds wouldn't burn. I make a lot of quickbreads, but this may be the best I've ever made!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
MAN, is this good!!!! I had a can of plums to use up, so I found this recipe. I was afraid that using canned instead of fresh would make it too mushy, but it was perfect! I didn't toss the plums in flour, obviously, and I didn't assemble everything as the recipe says, but didn't change anything else. I mixed the flour and sugar in one bowl and whipped all the other ingredients in another bowl with a whisk. Added the wet to the dry, then gently stirred in the plums. Oh, and I added about 1/3 cup chopped pecans. This is SO good fresh out of the oven slathered in butter!! As one reviewer already noted, it really sticks to the pan. Be sure to grease and flour the pan, especially the bottom. Mine was a mess to get out, but I wasn't serving it to company so it didn't matter. It didn't sit around for very long anyway because it was so delicious. Looking forward to trying it with peaches. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was going to do my own thing making plum bread for the first time, but when I found this recipe was compelled to use it. As so many other reviewers have done, I modified based in ingredients on hand which goes to show that the foundation recipe is fantastic. When sharing the finished product with neighbors and friends, I called it breakfast cake as it is pretty sweet and rich! I have tons of plums and will be making more this week. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! I mad this with fresh plums off of a friends tree and it was so good. All I had on hand was some peach yogurt and used it in place of plain. Great taste. My plums were a bit too juicy and part of the dough came out gooey, but cooked. The texture was very cake like but not at all too sweet like cake. I love it. I might us less plums next time to see how it comes out. Perfect with coffee and friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States