My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
all time husband favorite. this is the only way I use the prunes from our garden. awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacintha29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this recipe with homemade bottled plums. Great bread, but I found it took about 20 minutes longer to cook thoroughly, even after trying to drain the plums. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Soooo good! I doubled the recipe and baked in a Bundt pan (makes too much batter for a bundt and I should have made a few muffins as well as the batter dripped out all over my oven floor). I subbed sour cream for yogurt and used about 12 plums total. My husband said this is one of the best cakes I've ever made. The sweetness to tartness ratio is lovely and it is MOIST. This would be a perfect breakfast bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
AMAZING recipe- it's perfect just as it is! I did add a little more plums and cut the butter into the crumb mixture. Fantastic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
love this. will add more plums next time and leave the sugar off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmargaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Wonderful recipe. For my second batch, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cups and added two cups of chopped plums instead of just one. Great with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Thank you for a great recipe, I made two loaves yesterday, one with plums, the other with apples and added cinnamon. Making more today to use up the last of the plums. Very nice loaf. Easily adapted for any fruit-apples, peaches, pears and will easily freeze. Great to have around for unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Loved this! To make it a bit healthier, I ground up oatmeal in my blender & used 1 cup of it mixed with 1/2 c. flour, cut back on the sugar & doubled the plums, vanilla & plain yogurt. I did indulge by using butter instead of margarine, but next time, I may cut back on it, as it was quite rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Quick, easy and delicious way to use up the plums my son wouldn't eat because they had softened. I, like others had to sub sour cream for the yogurt, because I didn't have any. I will make this again, possibly to "use up" other fruits that are past their prime. I wish I hadn't thrown away those golden cherries last week. Those, with a little almond extract would probably have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Love plums and this bread. The addition of a tbls. of orange rind makes it even better for us. The same problem exists with ratings unfortunately because you cannot rate a recipe with 5 if you have totally changed it. Sorry, but this is always happening and no doubt hear it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States