My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I didn't really care for the American cheese in this but will make it again using different grated cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
My husband and especially my kids really like this cheese sauce. I think it's the processed cheese :-). Which is why it's not my absolute favorite, but whatever helps the vegetable get eaten, right? It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
With a few adjustments, this made an excellent cheese sauce. I didn't give it 5 stars b/c I think it definitely needed tweaking: For 1 head of steamed cauliflower--I halved the milk & cheese (2cups milk & 8 slices cheese). Then doubled the garlic (2 cloves total) and added a little extra onion. I did find that it was thin so I put in a total of 3t. corn starch which still was a little thin for my taste. However, with the above adjustments this really was GREAT. Very flavorful and a good sauce on ANY veggies. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
It is tasty but I also found it a little thin as written. I don't know that I would bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Booby Hill, Saba, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I don't know what went wrong! I liked the addition of onion and garlic, but, it was quite runny and just kind of, blah. Sorry! Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
love this!, ez to make..actually very tasty and my son ate all the veggies, during his no veggie strike . thnxs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I should have taken other reviewer's advice and cut the recipe in half, but since I used only 3 c. of fat-free half & half I thought I would be okay. I reduced the liquid to three c. since others had trouble thickening their sauce. Mine, though it took a little while, got to a nice thickness. I also increased the onion to 1 1/2 tsp., sauteed it in the butter and then lightly toasted the garlic before adding the half & half. At that point, I added about 1/4 tsp. mustard powder (will probably double it next time) and, like stylingmom, added a little worstershire (about 1 tsp). I used about 16 oz. grated sharp cheddar as I didn't have American and the flavor was good but a bit grainy. I'll use American next time and see what the result is. All in all a great recipe but I highly recommend making 1/2 a batch unless your feeding a crowd. Thanks for the recipe, ALISSMOM, and your mother-in-law as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I served this sauce over broccoli and my kids loved it! The sauce does take a while to thicken--be sure to add the cornstarch & water mixture before the cheese and then let it GENTLY boil until it gets to the consistency you like before you add the cheese. It may also help to halve the recipe. Since it was just for the kids, I cut the recipe down to two servings (which was plenty), and had no problem with thickening. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this recipe adjusted for two servings. It had a nice flavour but would not thicken even after extra cornstarch. I think next time I would reduce the amount of milk by at least 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I used cheese spread instead of cheese slices, and it worked really well. I then added it to some steak strips(that had already been cooked with spices) and it tasted great, was looking forever for a easy cheese sauce that could go with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States