My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Gourmet this is not but my 3 kids said it was the best cheese sauce they ever tasted and were licking their plates. Sometimes it's nice to not hear any complaints at dinner and this did the trick. Thanks. (BTW, used velveeta and halved the recipe, served over noodles, steamed broccoli & cauliflower.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was a good recipe in a "pinch", but not a true creamy cheese sauce. That said you can't expect "great" when the recipe call's for 16 american cheese slice's, right? I also found the amount to be way too much, 1/2 the recipe would do. This is the perfect recipe for beginner's in the kitchen and for those dinner's put together in a "pinch". But I will do a little further searching at All Recipe.com for that perfect creamy melt in your mouth cheese sauce-because this one wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
It was pretty good. I had to add tons more cornstarch than the recipe called for, and let it cook forever and it was still runnier than I'd like. Taste was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I used garlic powder and extra onion. I also substituted shredded mozz chz for the sliced chz. I used this in a recipe that called for canned chz soup, which has way too much sodium! It turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I was not impressed with this recipe. I took other reviewers suggestions and still did not find it all that tasty. It was definately a MUST to add more corn starch if you want a sauce that won't run all over the place on your plate. I probably won't use this one again. I gave it 3 stars just because of how easy it was to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I didn't think this was that good. I added some sharp cheddar to give it more cheese flavor. I think I will keep looking for a better recipe. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was great. I hate American Cheese so I used some Tillamook Sharp Cheddar. Mmmmm. My husband said it was like having my grandma's Mac n Cheese. Thats the best compliment he's ever given my cooking. Thanks for sharing the secret recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYZ23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This is excellent on veggies, and before putting the leftovers in the fridge, add some peppers or hot sauce to use as chilled cheese dip with chips. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Flavor was very good, the addition of garlic and onion gave it the little extra however it was a little on the runny side. Try adding more cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States