My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We tried this for a Super Bowl party and were sorely disappointed. We followed the recipe very carefully and it just seemed to separate and was thin. After about an 45 minutes of simmering and stirring we just gave up and went to the store and bought cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It came out really good, I used it for the Perogies I made, and it was amazing. The only thing I did different was leave out the minced onion, and only because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
use half as much milk and twice as much cornstarch. And don't forget to dissolve the cornstarch in water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Next time I make this I will use 3 cups of milk instead of what the recipe called for. Even after adding 10 more slices of cheese, this was still way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I've tried this recipe several times, first with the cheese slices, it was great. I tried it again with preshredded yellow cheese, and it didn't come out as smooth. I don't know if I am missing something, or if I should add a bit of lemon next time, but if you are trying to avoid processed cheese, as is, this is not the best choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I doubled the cornstarch b/c the milk was not getting thick. I used a dash of garlic powder and onion powder to save time. It was a nice mild sauce, perfect for veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It's my husbands favorite over broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
The taste is there, but too much milk. Never thickend up. Would make again with half the amount of milk of what's called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
very simple easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This sauce was not good. It was runny & had no flavor. We kept adding cheese hoping it would taste like something but it was aweful. Way too runny. It never thickened even after i added more starch. Not good at all. Dont try this at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie2qt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States