My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is so easy. I seasoned and floured and lightly browned the meat first. Since the flour acted as a thickening agent I skipped the cornstarch. Instead of water, I added beef broth and instead of canned tomatoes, I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
We just finished dinner and this dish is fabulous! It tasted so much like the Swiss Steak my mother used to make. The only thing I did different was - I did not use the mushrooms (mom did not put mushrooms in hers when I had it as a child); I used a mixture of green, red and yellow bell peppers, and fresh oregano from my garden instead of dried. I also sprinkled salt and pepper on the meat before it cooked, and then some on the vegetables before I added them to the pot. I served this with mashed potatoes and I smothered the meat and the potatoes with the gravy (which I did thicken some). Yummy! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is fabulous! I made a couple of changes.... used beef broth and added it during the cooking time. Also, I added several cloves of garlic with the onions and the canned tomatoes that I used were already seasoned with garlic, basil, and oregano. My husband and I both loved it (AND I DON'T EAT BEEF "OOPS")! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Good base recipe. I floured and seasoned my steaks first and then pounded them down. Then I browned my steaks in half butter/half oil mixture before returning vegtables and added a can of tomato soup. Really tasty, I will keep this recipe and keep trying variations. (Wish I would have made mashed potatoes with this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
It was great ~ the only thing I did differently was to add beef broth so the meat would have something to simmer in. I let the broth "cook down" ... yummy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDEEJOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Even my 4 and 8 yr old boys loved it!I did make some changes based on other reviewers though. I coated the round steaks with flour seasoned with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper and italian seasoning then browned it on both sides and just added 1/8 cup each chopped red, yellow and green pepper, 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 onion cut in rings, 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can mushrooms drained, and 1 cup beef broth-covered it and let simmer for an hour-then served it over brown rice. It was a little watery, I probably should have only used 1/2 cup broth but the meat was tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe is great! I seasoned, floured and browned the meat first. I did not have green pepper or mushrooms but I did have a red pepper. I used diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano (frum Hunts). Came out very tasty, can't wait to try it with the mushrooms - great basic recipe room for personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was awesome! I made a few changes out of necessity (didn't have the exact ingredients) but it turned out great. I sprinkled the beef with Tony Chachere's seasoning before browning and added a 28 oz can of whole tomatoes (which I zapped with my stick blender a few times to chop them). I didn't fool with the cornstarch as the "gravy" was great just as it was. I added fresh mushrooms but didn't have green peppers or celery. Served it over mashed potatoes with a slice of french toast and it was just great. Will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Great recipe! Added beef broth and served over egg noodles! Will definately do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I tried this out today and it was very bland. The steaks had absolutely no flavor and it was just generally bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Follett, Texas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States