My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
It was great ~ the only thing I did differently was to add beef broth so the meat would have something to simmer in. I let the broth "cook down" ... yummy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDEEJOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I tried this out today and it was very bland. The steaks had absolutely no flavor and it was just generally bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Follett, Texas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is really a very good basic recipe, however, it needs to be seasoned. I also used beef broth with this dish and thickend at the end. With these changes, we enjoyed it Janne2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Good base recipe. I floured and seasoned my steaks first and then pounded them down. Then I browned my steaks in half butter/half oil mixture before returning vegtables and added a can of tomato soup. Really tasty, I will keep this recipe and keep trying variations. (Wish I would have made mashed potatoes with this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Excellent easy to prepare and I use a pressure cooker to cook. I added a little wine and a little beef stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was fairly tender, but was very bland. I did season the meat with seasoning salt & garlic powder but that didn't really help. My family ate it all up, but if I tried making this again, then I would try the beef broth, or something to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is so easy. I seasoned and floured and lightly browned the meat first. Since the flour acted as a thickening agent I skipped the cornstarch. Instead of water, I added beef broth and instead of canned tomatoes, I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I made this withouth the optional gravy and thought it was fabulous! It is now part of our regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is fabulous! I made a couple of changes.... used beef broth and added it during the cooking time. Also, I added several cloves of garlic with the onions and the canned tomatoes that I used were already seasoned with garlic, basil, and oregano. My husband and I both loved it (AND I DON'T EAT BEEF "OOPS")! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States