My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Good one pot dish, great flavor. To cut the cook time, I sliced the steak before cooking it. I also added the extra water while the steak was simmering since I like the extra sauce. If I didn't add the water, the meat would've burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Even my 4 and 8 yr old boys loved it!I did make some changes based on other reviewers though. I coated the round steaks with flour seasoned with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper and italian seasoning then browned it on both sides and just added 1/8 cup each chopped red, yellow and green pepper, 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 onion cut in rings, 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can mushrooms drained, and 1 cup beef broth-covered it and let simmer for an hour-then served it over brown rice. It was a little watery, I probably should have only used 1/2 cup broth but the meat was tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
good base recipe... I followed the advise of some reviews, and added about 1/2 cup of beef broth, 4 cloves of garlic, red pepper, green pepper, two chopped fresh tomatoes, and served over mashed tater... good stuff; husband loved! BTW- I didn't need to cook for 1&1/2 hours, just simmering for 35-45 mins did just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reciprocipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
My husband liked this more than I did. The flavor was really good but the steaks turned out dry. It may have been my fault - I did add the beef stock before cooking as suggested by another reviewer. I'll try this again (because DH wants me to) but I'm going to put it in the crock pot and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for the recipe - it was a nice change from our usual grilled steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have many, many recipes for swiss steak and this is simply the best. Didn't have fresh mushrooms tonight so I threw in some canned. The steak was tender and I loved the thickened sauce. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very good - made a couple of changes due to what I had on hand and reviews. Used cube steak (dredged in flour before browning) and added garlic with the onions. Also added a can of beef broth with the other veggies as there was not enough liquid for the long cooking time. I thickened the gravy at the end and it was great with the steak as well as on top of mashed potatoes. Quick and easy - will definately make again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is a great for the weekends to do just what you do with your skillet but with a crockpot so that you can let it take care of it's self while your busy doing cleaning or while at church. What a great meal to have at the end of the day with so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I took the advise of others and added garlic to the onion and 1 can beef broth to the pot. WOW!!! Phenominal dish. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe is great! I seasoned, floured and browned the meat first. I did not have green pepper or mushrooms but I did have a red pepper. I used diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano (frum Hunts). Came out very tasty, can't wait to try it with the mushrooms - great basic recipe room for personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Simple but good. I didn't add water as I had enough liquid from the (not drained) tomato juices to make a nice sauce, which I did thicken a bit w/ cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States