My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Love this recipe came out perfect!I didn't have green pepper but used celery.Smiling at how delish this dish tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I like it cause it's always harder to find beef slow cooker meals, it was pretty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This dish was flavorless, the beef was tender but it was like chewing on a piece of white bread, just blah. I think the reviews are skewed here, if you follow the recipe, which I did exactly it doesn't end well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
4 stars according to my teenage son! ...made according to recipe including seasoning & flouring the steaks before pan searing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Personally...I love this recipe. It's one of those "comfort" type food's I remember my mother and grandmother serving. This dish take's little in the way of effort, but taste's like you were at the stove all day. And most importantly....my husband LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I only rate the recipes I really like or really don't like, and I liked this very much. I pretty much followed it as written, except I sliced the veggies instead of dicing them. Served with mashed potatoes - very yummy. This reminded me a lot of the swiss steak my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very, very good. Meat was tender enough to cut with a fork, and sauce had wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Im a new member and this was the first recipe I tried. LOVED it. quick & easy. After a summer of bbq steaks this was a nice change into fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Good one pot dish, great flavor. To cut the cook time, I sliced the steak before cooking it. I also added the extra water while the steak was simmering since I like the extra sauce. If I didn't add the water, the meat would've burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Even my 4 and 8 yr old boys loved it!I did make some changes based on other reviewers though. I coated the round steaks with flour seasoned with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper and italian seasoning then browned it on both sides and just added 1/8 cup each chopped red, yellow and green pepper, 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 onion cut in rings, 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can mushrooms drained, and 1 cup beef broth-covered it and let simmer for an hour-then served it over brown rice. It was a little watery, I probably should have only used 1/2 cup broth but the meat was tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States