My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I tried this recipe as my husband loves swiss steak. It was delicious. I used a can of onion/green pepper petite-diced canned tomatoes, cut up some green pepper and onions and cooked them in the skillet after browning the beef. I added some water and a beef boullion cube and let the veggies simmer until done. I baked the swiss steak at 325 for 2 hours. It was tender and made a great gravy for my mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Was just like mom used to make! Even my picky eaters liked it. For them I left out the mushrooms, but added some fresh sliced to mine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
this is the best. made it a few days ago and it turned out great. i had some left so i made a second batch and combined them and turned it into beef stew. it makes a great base for beef stew also. everyone wanted the recipe. i did add a pint of tomato juce and cabbage to the fist batch when i made it. the cabbage made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was yummy. I made a few small changes, though. I dredged the sirloin strips in seasoned flour and browned first, then adding beef stock to the pan before adding the vegetables. If I had time, I would have let it simmer for much longer to tenderize the beef, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMconnected

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic! My husband raved about it and my picky children gobbled it right up. I will definitely make this again. I seasoned the steak with all purpose seasoning and dredged it in flour before browning it. I added a cup of beef broth in place of the water. I omitted the bay leaf because I didn't have any and since I floured the steak the cornstarch wasn't necessary. I also added garlic because I add garlic to just about everything. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this for a weekly food share participate in with 2 other families and HOLY COW WAS IT A HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe was the first Swiss Steak I had ever tried and LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was very good. It was different than I'm use to for Swiss Steak but the flavors were very good. My family enjoyed it and recommends that I make it again. This will be a recipe that I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made it in my slow cooker today. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
OUTSTANDING!!!!!! I thickened the gravy as previously noted. Serve with egg noodles or macaroni :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States