My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very very good! I do the same recipe with a pot roast and it is always tender. I add a tablespoon of sugar and white vinegar to the mix and serve with piping hot mashed potatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful oldfashioned Swiss Steak!! Gave it 4 stars because I did add a can of beef broth, browned the floured steak in EVO,in my Dutch oven, then added everything else and baked at 275 for about 3 hours--perfect!!! Did not have to thicken further. Served over mashed potatoes, and then made the whole thing into a Shepherd's Pie for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great recipe -truly just like mom used to make! My husband loved it. I even made it for my mom and dad - they both thought it was just as good as mom's - and hers is pretty terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this and loved it. I did not change a thing except I had frozen peppers and they worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I actually used this recipe as inspiration to clean out the fridge! Had cooked strip steak & grilled mushrooms leftover, as well as parts of onions & bell pepper, & even a small amount of homemade marinara which I used in place of the canned diced tomatoes. Served it over leftover pasta but I could definitely see it over mashed potatoes or rice also. Very good & flavorful comfort food. And as an added bonus I have a clean fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
my mother in law made this when I was still dating my husband. I'm so glad I found this recipe. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I tried this recipe as my husband loves swiss steak. It was delicious. I used a can of onion/green pepper petite-diced canned tomatoes, cut up some green pepper and onions and cooked them in the skillet after browning the beef. I added some water and a beef boullion cube and let the veggies simmer until done. I baked the swiss steak at 325 for 2 hours. It was tender and made a great gravy for my mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Was just like mom used to make! Even my picky eaters liked it. For them I left out the mushrooms, but added some fresh sliced to mine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
this is the best. made it a few days ago and it turned out great. i had some left so i made a second batch and combined them and turned it into beef stew. it makes a great base for beef stew also. everyone wanted the recipe. i did add a pint of tomato juce and cabbage to the fist batch when i made it. the cabbage made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States