My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
It was great ~ the only thing I did differently was to add beef broth so the meat would have something to simmer in. I let the broth "cook down" ... yummy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDEEJOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Excellent easy to prepare and I use a pressure cooker to cook. I added a little wine and a little beef stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is fabulous! I made a couple of changes.... used beef broth and added it during the cooking time. Also, I added several cloves of garlic with the onions and the canned tomatoes that I used were already seasoned with garlic, basil, and oregano. My husband and I both loved it (AND I DON'T EAT BEEF "OOPS")! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe. Used stewed tomatoes, tomato soup and sprinkled beef broth crystals in it. Marinated the sirloin an hour with Steakhouse grinder seasoning and a bit of garlic and EVOO before browning it. The seasoning really stuck with it despite the long cooking time. Baby Bellas and celery added a nice harmony to the sauce. It looked great and tasted awesome with roasted potato wedges and a nice spinach salad. Company comlpimented it several times, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is so easy. I seasoned and floured and lightly browned the meat first. Since the flour acted as a thickening agent I skipped the cornstarch. Instead of water, I added beef broth and instead of canned tomatoes, I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Great recipe! Added beef broth and served over egg noodles! Will definately do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was awesome! I made a few changes out of necessity (didn't have the exact ingredients) but it turned out great. I sprinkled the beef with Tony Chachere's seasoning before browning and added a 28 oz can of whole tomatoes (which I zapped with my stick blender a few times to chop them). I didn't fool with the cornstarch as the "gravy" was great just as it was. I added fresh mushrooms but didn't have green peppers or celery. Served it over mashed potatoes with a slice of french toast and it was just great. Will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
We just finished dinner and this dish is fabulous! It tasted so much like the Swiss Steak my mother used to make. The only thing I did different was - I did not use the mushrooms (mom did not put mushrooms in hers when I had it as a child); I used a mixture of green, red and yellow bell peppers, and fresh oregano from my garden instead of dried. I also sprinkled salt and pepper on the meat before it cooked, and then some on the vegetables before I added them to the pot. I served this with mashed potatoes and I smothered the meat and the potatoes with the gravy (which I did thicken some). Yummy! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
When I made this recipe I used beef tips for beef stew and omitted the tomatoes. At the end I simmered the meat in the gravy for an adittional 20 minutes and then served the meat and gravy over egg noodles. We all loved it including 4 picky kids. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States